Speeches
  At an extraordinary meeting of the cabinet to examine the issue of the electoral system.  
  2 May 2006  
     
 

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

The Cabinet holds an extraordinary meeting today to discuss the report submitted by the committee, which was formed in accordance with Cabinet resolution (1080) in its meeting on 10/10/2005. It was assigned to study the flaws, the most prominent being the actual application of the existing electoral system and recommend appropriate practical means to tackle them and develop the electoral system to enhance sound parliamentary practices that attain the national goals.
To begin with, I wish to express my gratitude and appreciation to all those who have contributed to supporting this committee, which was formed under the instructions of His Highness, the late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah may Allah rest his soul, during his reign, and with the support of the Father Amir while he was Crown Prince, His Highness Sheikh Sa'ad Al-Abdullah Al-Salem Al-Sabah may Allah grant him plentiful good health.
His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah undertook to interpret these instructions and formed the committee headed by His Highness the Crown Prince Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber  Al-Sabah when he held the position of First Deputy Premier and Minister of Interior.

The notion was born of a past, and we are in a new era; both eras shone with their leaders, senior personalities and the people of this country.
His Highness the First Deputy Premier, Minister of Interior and Minister of Defense His Excellency Sheikh Jaber Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah continued working on this committee along with its members in the higher interest of Kuwait, enhancing and activating the democratic life that we have adopted as a course and approach.
The formation of this committee came as a genuine expression of the Cabinet's conviction in the significance of this aspect of national action, and that promoting and driving the parliamentary process are at the top of the political, legislative and executive priorities, as they are closely linked to the hopes and needs of the Kuwaiti citizen. 

The committee has thus completed its task accordingly, which leaves me room only to commend this distinguished action that highlights the immense efforts exerted in preparing this invaluable study contained in the report, which also includes a clear analysis of the flaws in the electoral system and defines the principles and criteria the study was based on.

The issue of our extraordinary meeting today is to examine the amendment of the electoral system. Before us, we have a practical and objective evaluation, along with a detailed study of all aspects of the matter put forth.
Certainly, this matter with its various aspects and details is not free from complications and sensitivities whereby, different interpretations and opinions are expected, and which all aim to achieve the national interest. We are all keen to find the ideal formula to the electoral system which will accomplish our goals.
May our impartiality and genuine desire to advance towards a promising democracy be our guideline and the country's interest our aim and objective.
We pray to Almighty Allah to grant us success in dealing with our national responsibility and all that is in the interest of our dear Kuwait under the leadership of His Highness the Amir and His Highness the Crown Prince.

Wassalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

 
 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سموه في الإجتماع الإستثنائي لمجلس الوزراء لبحث مشروع تعديل النظام الانتخابي  
  2 مايو 2006  
     
 

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،،،

ينعقد مجلس الوزراء اليوم في اجتماع استثنائي لمناقشة التقرير المقدم من اللجنة المشكلة بمقتضى قرار مجلس الوزراء ( 1080 ) في اجتماعه بتاريخ 10/10/2005 والتي تحددت مهمتها في دراسة السلبيات التي أبرزها الواقع التطبيقي للنظام الانتخابي القائم واقتراح السبل العملية المناسبة لمعالجتها وتطوير النظام الانتخابي بما يعزز الممارسة البرلمانية السليمة ويحقق الغايات الوطنية المنشودة.

ولا يسعني في البداية إلا أن أتقدم بالشكر والعرفان لكل من ساهم في دعم ومساندة هذه اللجنة التي تشكلت بتوجيهات من سيدي حضرة صاحب السمو المغفور له الشيخ جابر الأحمد الجابر الصباح طيب الله ثراه عندما كان أميرا للبلاد وبمؤازرة من أخيه حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير الوالد الشيخ سعد العبد الله السالم الصباح أمده الله بالصحة والعافية عندما كان وليا للعهد.

وقد أخذ حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير المفدى الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله عندما كان رئيسا لمجلس الوزراء على عاتقه ترجمة هذه التوجيهات السامية وتم تشكيل اللجنة برئاسة سمو ولي العهد الشيخ نواف الأحمد الجابر الصباح حفظه الله عندما كان نائبا أول لرئيس مجلس الوزراء وزيرا للداخلية.
لقد ولدت فكرة هذه اللجنة في عهد ونحن في عهد جديد لبلدنا الحبيب... وفى كلا العهدين كان الوطن الغالي شامخا بقادته ورجالاته وأبنائه.

وأكمل مسيرة العمل في هذه اللجنة النائب الأول لرئيس مجلس الوزراء وزير الداخلية ووزير الدفاع معالي الأخ الشيخ جابر مبارك الحمد الصباح وإخوانه أعضاء اللجنة الذين واصلوا العطاء واضعين نصب أعينهم مصلحة الكويت العليا بما يعزز ويفعل الحياة الديمقراطية التي آمنا بها طريقا ونهجا.

وقد جاء تشكيل هذه اللجنة تعبيرا صادقا عن قناعة مجلس الوزراء بمدى أهمية هذا المحور من محاور العمل الوطني، وبأن دفع مسيرة العمل البرلماني وتطويره وتدعيم دوره يأتي في مقدمة الأولويات السياسية والتشريعية والتنفيذية باعتباره يمس عن قرب آمال واحتياجات المواطن الكويتي، ومن ثم بات هذا المحور الذي انعقدت اللجنة لتفعيله من أهم المحاور التي يوليها مجلس الوزراء جل اهتمامه وعنايته.

وإذ أنجزت اللجنة مهمتها علي النحو المنشود بما لا يسعني معه في هذا المقام إلا أن أحيي هذا العمل المميز المشكور والذي يبرز حجم الجهد الذي بذل في إعداد الدراسة القيمة التي تضمنها التقرير بما اشتمل عليه من تشخيص واضح لسلبيات النظام الانتخابي وتحديد للمبادئ والمعايير التي استندت إليها.

إن موضوع اجتماعنا الاستثنائي اليوم النظر في تعديل النظام الانتخابي، وها هو بين أيدينا بتوفيق الله تقييم علمي مجرد ودراسة دقيقة لكافة جوانب الأمر المعروض.

ولا شك بأن هذه المسألة بما تنطوي عليه من جوانب وتفاصيل لا تخلو من التعقيد والحساسية ، على نحو يتوقع معه تباين الاجتهادات ووجهات النظر التي تهدف جميعها إلي تحقيق المصلحة الوطنية ، وكلنا حريص على إيجاد الصيغة الأمثل للنظام الانتخابي الذي يحقق الأهداف المنشودة.

ليكن تجردنا وصدق رغبتنا في الخطو للأمام نحو ديمقراطية واعدة هو رائدنا جميعا، ولتكن مصلحة الوطن هي الهدف والغاية.

نسال المولى القدير لنا جميعا التوفيق والسداد في مواجهة مسؤوليتنا الوطنية لكل ما فيه خير ومصلحة كويتنا الغالية، تحت راية سيدي حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير المفدى، وولى عهده الأمين، حفظهما الله ورعاهما.

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،،،

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة