Speeches
  At the NATO conference.  
  12 December 2006  
     
 

His Highness the Crown Prince Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah,
His Highness the Crown Prince and Commander in Chief of the Defense Force in the Kingdom of Bahrain,
His Excellency Mr. Jaap de Hoop Scheffer Secretary General of the NATO Alliance,
His Excellency Mr. AbdulRahman Bin Hamad Al-Attiyah Secretary General of the Gulf Cooperation Council,
Your Excellencies Heads and Members of Delegations,
Your Excellencies Sheikhs, Ministers, and Ambassadors

Dear Attendance
I warmly welcome you, and wish our esteemed guests a pleasant stay in this safe country. It is an honour for me to convey the best wishes of His Highness the Amir and the compliments of His Highness the Crown Prince.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

We are gathered today at a historic meeting comprising prominent officials from the Gulf Cooperation Council countries, and officials from the North Atlantic Treaty Organization "NATO". It is a first consultative conference in Kuwait of which we anticipate fruitful achievements for all our states, developing into a productive meeting we may collectively benefit from.

Our conference comes two days after the closing of the twenty seventh Gulf Cooperation Council leaders summit, through which our countries in this region exert consolidated efforts to enhance cooperation, in order to achieve our people's objectives of security and development.

Dear Guests,

Undoubtedly, everyone fully understands that the Middle East has, within the last decades, endured continued crises; crises that the people have paid a high price for with lives and lost opportunities for development.
We live in Kuwait and the Gulf where we possess, in and around us, oil reserves that are indispensable for providing energy to the world; it is the basis and the instigator of International development. Therefore, stability, cooperation and development are fundamental objectives of our countries, and the world shares our views on this. Here lies the importance of cooperation with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization "NATO" which has expanded to group a number of countries in the last few years reaching twenty six countries with all their expertise, capabilities and experiences from which our countries may benefit and learn; above all, an important lesson which is that cooperation and exchanging expertise are the best means to overcome crises, serve the peoples and promote peace.

Last September I visited various member countries of the NATO alliance and I perceived firsthand, from the leaderships of these countries their aspirations and high hopes in establishing cooperation and realizing peace and security, not only in their regions, but in other regions around the world.

Today we witness a contrast in the nature of the role and function carried out by alliances for the sake of peace. Every region around the world, from East to West seeks to join a specific alliance that safeguards it from harm, provides security and achieves development. This phenomenon basically confirms that international cooperation is the means for resolving disputes.

We embrace fruitful cooperation between Gulf Cooperation Council states and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization alliance “NATO”, to enhance initiatives launched from the outset of the Mediterranean Dialogue leading to the Istanbul Cooperation Initiative in the framework of which, this conference is held. And in order to explore means of cooperation which will accomplish mutual interests. 
We emphasize our need for affiliation to a partnership to obtain stability and peace based on values of respect, equality, justice and mutual trust.

Dear Attendance,

We believe that all peoples and societies have a culture and distinctive attributes in the social and political structure they hope and desire to attain, drawing on the experiences of others while reinforcing their individual experiences. The Gulf Cooperation Council states propose overall political and economic reform that will be in the interest of citizens and will achieve cooperation with other countries.

However, we recognize that there is a gap that must be bridged between the developed and the developing countries, illustrated in technological advancement and scientific research which is relevant to all fields of life. NATO countries can play an effective role in eliminating this gap and assisting in maintaining natural resources, protecting the environment and encouraging peaceful coexistence between nations.
Time and scientific advancement will ensure the abolishment of all barriers and walls between nations. On this matter, our conference shall lay the foundations for close cooperation between Gulf Cooperation Council states and the North Atlantic alliance in all opportunities and potentials attainable to both sides. 
Therefore, we look forward in Kuwait, to holding direct and constructive dialogue between officials and researchers in the Gulf Cooperation Council states, and officials in the alliance institutes to pursue the best means of cooperation.

May Allah grant you all success in this meeting, which I hope will recur for the benefit of us all. Wishing your conference every success.

Wassalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

 
 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء في المؤتمر الدولي للناتو ودول الخليج  
  12 ديسمبر 2006  
     
 

صاحب السمو الأخ الشيخ سلمان بن حمد آل خليفة

ولي العهد والقائد العام لقوة الدفاع بمملكة البحرين الشقيقة

معالي السيد جاكوب جيجسبوت شيفر - أمين عام حلف الناتو

معالي الأخ عبد الرحمن بن حمد العطية – أمين عام

مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية

أصحاب المعالي رؤساء وأعضاء الوفود

أصحاب المعالي الشيوخ والوزراء والسفراء

الحضور الكرام 
   

  أرحب بكم جميعاً، متمنيا لضيوفنا الكرام طيب الإقامة في هذا البلد الأمين، ويشرفني أن أنقل لكم تحيات حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد، وتحيات سمو ولي عهده الأمين، حفظهما الله ورعاهما. 

السيدات والسادة..

نلتقي اليوم في اجتماع تاريخي يضم نخبة من المسئولين في دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية، و حلف شمال الأطلسي " الناتو"، وهو اجتماع تشاوري أول في الكويت نطمح أن يحقق نتائج طيبة لكل دولنا، ويتطور إلى لقاء فاعل نستفيد منه جميعا. 

إن اجتماعنا هذا يأتي بعد يومين من انتهاء أعمال القمة السابعة والعشرين لقادة دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية الذي تبذل من خلاله دولنا في هذه المنطقة الجهود الكثيفة لتعزيز التعاون من أجل تحقيق أهداف شعوبنا في الأمن والتنمية. 

ضيوفنا الكرام..

لا شك أن الجميع يعرف معرفة تامة أن منطقة الشرق الأوسط ، عانت في العقود الأخيرة من أزمات متواصلة، وهي أزمات تدفع فيها الشعوب أثمانا غالية في الأرواح وفي فرص التنمية الضائعة. 
ونحن نعيش في الكويت والخليج ولدينا وحولنا مخزون نفطي لا يستغني عنه العالم من أجل توفير الطاقة، التي هي أساس ومحرك التنمية الدولية، لذا فإن الاستقرار والتعاون والتنمية هي أهداف أساسية لدولنا ويشاركنا العالم في ذلك. 

من هنا تأتي أهمية التعاون مع منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي " الناتو " الذي توسعت رقعته لتشمل العديد من الدول في السنوات الأخيرة، حتى بلغت ستا وعشرين دولة، بكل ما تملك هذه الدول من خبرات وقدرات وتجارب، تستفيد منها دولنا، وعلى قمتها درس هام، وهو أن التعاون وتبادل الخبرات هما الطريق الأفضل لتجاوز الأزمات وخدمة الشعوب ونشر السلام.

لقد قمت في سبتمبر الماضي من هذا العام بزيارة بعض الدول الأعضاء في حلف الناتو ولمست مباشرة من قيادات هذه الدول ما يطمحون إليه من آمال كبيرة في ترسيخ التعاون وتحقيق الأمن والسلام، ليس في مناطقها فقط بل أيضا في المناطق المختلفة حول العالم. 
      

إننا نشهد اليوم اختلافا في طبيعة الدور والوظيفة التي تقوم بها التحالفات من أجل السلام، فكل منطقة حول العالم من شرقه إلى غربه، تحرص على الدخول في تحالف معين يجنبها الشرور، ويتيح لها الاستقرار و يحقق لها التنمية. وتكاد هذه الظاهرة أن تؤكد أن التعاون الدولي هو السبيل لحل الخلافات.
ونحن نرحب بتعاون مثمر بين دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية وبين منظمة حلف شمال الأطلسي "الناتو" لتعميق المبادرات التي انطلقت منذ بداية الحوار المتوسطي، وحتى مبادرة اسطنبول التي ينعقد هذا اللقاء في إطارها، من أجل البحث في سبل التعاون التي تحقق المصالح المشتركة. 
ونحن نؤكد أننا في حاجة إلى شراكة تربط بيننا لتحقيق الاستقرار والسلام، تستند إلى قيم الاحترام والمساواة والعدالة والثقة المتبادلة. 

الإخوة الحضور الكرام.. 

إننا نؤمن أن لكل شعب ومجتمع ثقافة وخصوصية في البناء الاجتماعي والسياسي الذي يتمناه ويرغب في تحقيقه، يستفيد من تجارب الغير، ويرسخ تجربته الذاتية، ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي اليوم تتقدم بجملة إصلاحات سياسية واقتصادية، تقود إلى منفعة المواطن وتحقق التعاون مع الدول. 
ولكننا ندرك أن هناك فجوة يجب إزالتها بين الدول المتقدمة والنامية وتكمن في التطور التكنولوجي والبحث العلمي، الذي يدخل في كل مجالات الحياة، ويمكن لدول الناتو أن تقوم بدور فاعل في إزالة هذه الفجوة، وأيضا المساعدة في الحفاظ على المصادر الطبيعية وحماية البيئة والحث على التعايش السلمي بين الشعوب.
إن الوقت والتقدم العلمي كفيل بتحطيم كل الحواجز والأسوار بين الشعوب، وفى هذا الشأن يأتي اجتماعنا لوضع أسس لتعاون أوثق بين دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية وبين حلف شمال الأطلسي، بكل ما يملكه الجانبان من فرص وإمكانيات. 

لذا فإننا نتطلع في الكويت لإجراء حوار مباشر ومثمر بين المسؤولين والباحثين في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وبين المسؤولين في مؤسسات الحلف، من أجل البحث عن أفضل السبل للتعاون . 

       وفقكم الله جميعا في هذا اللقاء الذي أرجو أن يتكرر لفائدة الجميع، ومتمنيا لمؤتمركم النجاح والتوفيق. 

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،،،

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة