Speeches
  The address of His Highness the Prime Minister at the first session of the Cabinet  
  12 January 2009  
     
 

In the name of Allaha The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Assalamu Alikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

I was honoured to comply with the wish of His Highness the Amir to assume the post of Prime Minister. I am pleased to convey my pride and gratitude for his confidence, and to express my appreciation to His Highness the Crown Prince for his customary support. On our first session, I extend my appreciation to fellow ministers for accepting to participate in the cabinet and bearing the immense responsibility which we affirm our cooperation and solidarity to achieve reforms and development objectives.
It has not escaped me on this occasion, to commend the spirit of responsibility of members of the previous government and their sincere efforts, and express our gratitude to them for their devotion in serving the country and its people.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

We follow with extreme concern, and strong condemnation the ongoing brutal massacres and despicable crimes against defenseless innocents (senior citizens and children), which resulted in hundreds of victims; martyrs and injured, without any regard for human values and international legitimacy conventions.
The State of Kuwait calls upon the international community, particularly members of the Security Council, to implement resolution number (1860) which was passed recently and assume its humanitarian and legal responsibility to put a stop to these brutal crimes and practices against our brothers in Gaza, and taking decisive measures to bring to a halt this bloody tragedy.  Thus, we express our appreciation for the sincere efforts exerted by the Kuwaiti Red Crescent in cooperation with relevant international organizations to deliver aide and relief to our people in Gaza. We also pay tribute to the laudable efforts employed by the brotherly Republic of Egypt for facilitating the entrance of this aide into Gaza.

In this context, the State of Kuwait is hosting the Arab Economic, Social and Development Summit, where Arab leaders flock as guests in their second country to discuss all aspects of achieving development for our countries, hence it has been His Highness the Amir's central preoccupation and constitutes an added advantage to Kuwait's customary role in supporting Arab solidarity and boosting every positive effort to confront the issues of our Arab Ummah. We pray to Allah that this brotherly gathering will result in a positive outcome.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

We are all aware of the magnitude of challenges and the huge responsibilities of this phase; no doubt you will agree with me Ladies and Gentlemen, that we are required to exert continuous effort and fruitful contribution to live up to this great responsibility. To this end, it is necessary to modernize and innovate, stressing mostly on establishing the state of law and institutions to maintain Kuwait as a safe and secure country and a land of freedom, justice and democracy.
Perhaps there is an urgent need for reviewing laws, legislations and procedural systems; developing and activating them to achieve the necessary qualitative leap, through liberating them from the all consuming traditional work patterns, eliminating aspects of deficiency and administrative routine, adhering to the duties of the public post and implementing the principle of reward and punishment on everyone to raise the performance and carry out the interests of the citizen's promptly and easily. 
You will agree with me Ladies and Gentlemen that the greatest challenge we face at this stage is confronting the ramifications of the global financial crisis, which hit various economic sectors in the world. Kuwait is no exception; efforts were exerted to limit its impact; we witnessed its beginning, Allah only knows when and how we will overcome it. Thus, plans and development programs might be affected by the crisis's outcome, especially in light of the huge downturn in oil prices, which entailed a reduction in the sources of income. This requires a review of our development objectives and our aspirations for further affluence within the available potentiality and in the framework of the necessary priorities to build a strong State, above all epitomizing the desire of His Highness the Amir to transfer Kuwait into a regional and global financial and commercial hub.

I think you will agree with me Ladies and Gentlemen, that among our priorities is enhancing the positive values in youths, to attend to their affairs and anxieties, provide them with the means of education and advanced knowledge, brace them with the culture of tolerance, dialogue and moderation; renouncing violence and fanaticism in all its forms and incentives, and distancing themselves from negative aspects to maintain national unity, loyalty, and collective objectives and aspirations.
 
Ladies and Gentlemen, if we are predestined to uphold the national responsibility amidst these delicate times which the region is passing through, then we remain firmly adhering to the national principles in dealing with our region and the world. Our foreign policy continues to act in its Arab, Islamic dimensions and in the regional and international framework as a bridge to peace and a civilized beacon of light towards human development and welfare.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

In spite of the previously mentioned, we are approaching a bright and promising tomorrow, through the guidance and the teachings of our religion, the directives of His Highness the Amir and the support of His Highness the Crown Prince.
We fully believe Ladies and Gentlemen, in the role of the National Assembly, as the perfect partner in assuming the responsibility. Our hopes and aspirations will not be achieved unless we incorporate this positive partnership, and find genuine and fruitful cooperation, overcoming all obstacles to attain integral and constructive action that the people of Kuwait pin their hopes on. This with the blessing of the people and our proficient national media, through its various institutes which practice their responsible role as a free platform, observing public interest and preserving the stature of the country, as well as enhancing enlightened public opinion and maintaining freedom in a responsible manner.

We pray to Almighty Allah to guide us towards success and assist us in fulfilling the great oath, and that our country is blessed with opulence under the leadership of His Highness the Amir and His Highness the Crown Prince.

Wassalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء في أول جلسة لمجلس الوزراء  
  12 يناير 2009  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

 

الأخوات والأخوة الأفاضل

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،

لقد تشرفت بتلبية الإرادة السامية لحضرة صاحب السمو الأمير حفظه الله ورعاه بتولي أمانة رئاسة مجلس الوزراء، وإذ يسعدني أن أرفع لمقام سموه أسمى آيات الاعتزاز والامتنان على تفضله بمنحنا ثقته الغالية ، فإنه يسرني أن أتوجه بعظيم التقدير لسمو ولي العهد حفظه الله على مباركته لنا ومساندته ودعمه المعهود . 
ويطيب لي أيها الأخوة الكرام في أول لقاءاتنا المباركة بإذن الله ، أن أتقدم منكم بوافر الشكر والتقدير على قبولكم المشاركة بالعمل الوزاري وتحمل هذه المسئولية الكبيرة بما فيها من أعباء وتبعات ، مؤكدين على التعاون والتضامن بإذن الله لتحقيق ما ننشده من إنجازات إصلاحية وتنموية مستهدفة .
كما لا يفوتني في هذه المناسبة أن أشيد بروح المسئولية لدى الأخوة والأخوات أعضاء الحكومة السابقة وما قدموه من جهود مخلصة، شاكرا لهم حسن العطاء والحرص على التفاني في خدمة الوطن والمواطنين.

الأخوات والأخوة الأفاضل

إذ نتابع بكل قلق واستياء شديدين ما يتعرض له أهلنا في غزة من مجازر وحشية متواصلة وجرائم بشعة بحق الأبرياء العزل من الأطفال والشيوخ والتي راح ضحيتها المئات من الشهداء والجرحى دون أي اعتبار للقيم الإنسانية ومواثيق الشرعية  الدولية .
إن دولة الكويت تطالب المجتمع الدولي وعلى الأخص الدول الأعضاء في مجلس الأمن بتنفيذ قراره رقم(1860) الذي صدر مؤخرا والقيام بمسؤولياته الإنسانية والقانونية في إيقاف هذه الجرائم البشعة والممارسات الوحشية ضد الأشقاء في غزة واتخاذ إجراءات حاسمة لوقف هذه المأساة الدامية ولا يفوتنا في هذا المجال أن نعبر عن الشكر والتقدير للجهود المخلصة التي تقوم بها جمعية الهلال الأحمر الكويتي بالتعاون مع الجهات المعنية بالمنظمات الدولية من أجل إيصال المعونات ومواد الإغاثة لأهلنا في غزة ، كما ننوه بالجهود والمساعي المشكورة التي قدمتها جمهورية مصر العربية الشقيقة في تسهيل إدخال هذه المعونات داخل غزة .

وفي هذا الإطار فإن دولة الكويت تستضيف على أرضها ، القمة العربية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتنموية ، حيث حل قادة الدول العربية ضيوفا أعزاء في بلدهم الثاني لمناقشة كل ما يستهدف تحقيق التنمية في وطننا ، وهو ما يمثل هاجسا كبيرا لدى حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير حفظه الله ورعاه ويشكل إضافة ناصعة لدور الكويت المعهود في دعم التضامن العربي ومساندة كل جهد إيجابي لمواجهة قضايا أمتنا العربية ، ونسأل الله أن يسفر هذا اللقاء الأخوي عن النتائج الإيجابية المأمولة .

الأخوات والأخوة الأفاضل

جميعنا يعلم ويدرك حجم التحديات والمسئوليات الكبيرة التي تشهدها هذه المرحلة ، ولا شك أنكم معي أيها الأخوات والأخوة الكرام في أننا مطالبون بالمزيد من الجهد المتواصل والعطاء المثمر لنكون على قدر هذه المسئولية العظيمة، وأننا في هذا السبيل مطالبون بالتحديث والإبداع ، وأهم ما نحرص عليه ترسيخ دولة القانون والمؤسسات لتبقى الكويت دائما موطن الأمن والأمان وواحة الرخاء والحرية والعدالة والديمقراطية .
ولعل الحاجة الضرورية  تكمن في مراجعة القوانين والتشريعات والنظم الإجرائية وتطويرها وتفعيلها بما يحقق النقلة النوعية المطلوبة بالتحرر من أنماط العمل التقليدية المستهلكة ، في القضاء على مظاهر الخلل والروتين الإداري، التزاما بواجبات الوظيفة العامة وتطبيق مبدأ الثواب والعقاب على الجميع بما يؤدي إلى الارتقاء بالأداء الوظيفي وإنجاز مصالح المواطنين بسهولة ويسر .
ولعلكم معي أيها الأخوات والأخوة في أن التحدي الأكبر في هذه المرحلة يكمن في مواجهة تداعيات الأزمة المالية العالمية التي أصابت مختلف القطاعات الاقتصادية في العالم ، ولم تسلم الكويت من آثارها الخانقة حيث تضافرت الجهود للحد من تفاقم أضرارها ، وهي في واقع الأمر أزمة شهدنا بدايتها ، ولا يعلم إلا الله في أي وقت وعلى أي حال نتجاوزها ، وبالتالي فإن الخطط والبرامج التنموية المستهدفة قد تتأثر بنتائجها ، لاسيما في ظل التراجع الكبير في أسعار النفط وما لحقت به من انخفاض في مصادر الدخل ، وهو ما يستوجب إعادة النظر فيما رسمنا من أهداف تنموية ، وفيما نتطلع إليه من تحقيق المزيد من الرفاهية ، وذلك في حدود المتاح من الإمكانات وفي إطار الضروري من الأولويات في بناء الدولة القوية ، وعلى رأسها تجسيد دعوة حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد بتحويل الكويت إلى مركز مالي وتجاري متقدم في المنطقة والعالم .

وأعتقد أنكم تتفقون معي أيها الأخوات والأخوة الأفاضل بأن من أولوياتنا تعزيز القيم الإيجابية لدى الشباب والاهتمام بشئونهم وشجونهم وتزويدهم بأسباب العلم والمعرفة المتقدمة وتسليحهم بثقافة التسامح والحوار والاعتدال ونبذ العنف والتعصب بكل أشكاله ودوافعه ، والبعد عن الظواهر السلبية ، ليبقى أبناء الكويت دائما كما كانوا نسيجا واحدا لا يتجزأ ، ووحدة وطنية جامعة انتماءً وولاءً وغايات وتطلعات .
وإذا كان قدرنا أيها الأخوات والأخوة أن نتحمل المسئولية الوطنية في هذه الظروف الدقيقة التي تمر بها المنطقة ، فإننا على ثوابتنا الوطنية في التعامل سواء مع محيطنا الإقليمي والعالم كله ، وستبقى سياستنا الخارجية كعهدها في بعدها العربي والإسلامي وإطارها الإقليمي والدولي جسر سلام ومحبة ومشعل نور حضاري في سبيل التقدم البشري وخير الإنسانية جمعاء.

الأخوات والأخوة الأفاضل

إننا مع كل ما تقدم مقبلون بإذن الله على الغد الزاهر الواعد الذي نأمل ، مهتدين بتعاليم ديننا الحنيف وقيمنا الأصيلة ، ومسترشدين بحكمة وتوجيهات حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير ، ودعم ومساندة سمو ولي العهد حفظهما الله ورعاهما .
كما إننا أيها الأخوات والأخوة نؤمن إيمانا راسخا بدور مجلس الأمة – الشريك الكامل – معنا في المسئولية وأن آمالنا وطموحاتنا لن تتحقق إلا بتجسيد هذه الشراكة الايجابية وإيجاد تعاون حقيقي مثمر يتجاوز كافة العقبات والحواجز ، وصولاً إلى عمل تكاملي بناء يحقق ما يعقده أهل الكويت علينا من آمال وتطلعات ، بمباركة ودعم أبناء الديرة الكرام وأعلامنا الوطني المتمكن عبر مؤسساته المختلفة في ممارسة دوره المسئول كمنبر حر أمين وحريص على المصلحة العامة والمحافظة على سمعة البلاد ومكانتها الحضارية ، وتعزيز الرأي العام المستنير والالتزام بالحرية المسئولة .

اسأل الله تعالى أن يوفقنا لما يحبه ويرضاه ، وأن يسدد خطانا ويأخذ بايدينا، وأن يكون لنا خير سند ومعين على الوفاء بالقسم العظيم ، وأن ينعم على بلدنا بالخير الوفير تحت راية حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير وسمو ولي عهده الأمين حفظهما الله ورعاهما .

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،،،

 
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة