Speeches
  The address of His Highness the Prime Minister at the inauguration of the Economic and Social Forum of the Arab Economic, Social and Development Summit. 19-20/1/2009 The State of Kuwait  
  17 January 2009  
     
 

Your Excellency the Secretary General of the Arab League
Your Excellencies, Ministers,
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Esteemed attendance,

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh,

It is an honour on behalf of His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, the Amir of the State of Kuwait, to extend his sincere best wishes for success at this brotherly gathering in achieving our aspirations for progress and prosperity for the entire Arab World and its people.

We cordially welcome you all in the State of Kuwait, which is pleased to host the events of this Economic and Social forum, held within the frame work of the
Arab Economic, Social and Development Summit on the 19th -20th January.

All eyes are on us as they look to the meeting of their majesties, their highnesses and leaders of Arab States which gains great significance in light of the circumstances and challenges witnessed by the Arab World, particularly with the continued brutal Israeli aggression on Palestinians in the Gaza strip.

We convey our extreme sorrow at the tragic situation taking place in the Gaza strip and the tremendous suffering of the Palestinian people. Thus, we reconfirm our demand on the International community for the immediate suspension of the barbaric aggression, and the prompt action to achieve a just, comprehensive and permanent peace in the Middle East; securing the right of the Palestinian people to live in their independent State with Jerusalem as its capital.

Hence, in light of these pressing circumstances and challenges, we are required to act swiftly and effectively to attain economic integration that empowers us to confront the challenges for a better future in a world that no longer has a place for weakness or disunity.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

Undoubtedly, that within the last ten years, a number of Arab countries sought further economic reforms to control the general budget, liberalization of trade and prices, improve the legislative environment in accordance with developments related to the informatics and communications revolution, and liberalizing markets.

Many Arab States have exerted tangible efforts to encourage local and foreign investment in order to accomplish its role of driving development and provide productive employment opportunities for citizens.

You are well aware that the challenges remain immense and the obstacles are intricate; at a time when aspirations are rising. Therefore, the desire to overcome difficulties is a necessary requirement with no alternative; it has become a wide spread obsession.

Since the State of Kuwait is keen to enhance and develop the ties of joint Arab cooperation in all fields, especially the economic field, subsequently the noble wish of His Highness the Amir to hold the Arab Economic, Social and Development Summit followed.

This stems from the belief of the State of Kuwait that exploring economic, social and development matters is considered a more effective means of deepening ties between Arab countries, and achieving the pursued integration between them, creating a qualitative leap in different fields of joint Arab economic action to serve the higher interests for our Arab Ummah, and the aspirations of its people.

I wish to point to the efforts exerted by the relevant bodies in the General Secretariat of the Arab League in Cairo and the relevant bodies in the State of  Kuwait ever since the call for this summit in the capital of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Riyadh), during the Arab Summit held in March 2007. I would like to particularly commend the rigorous efforts of these bodies by organizing meetings and deliberations aimed at activating and highlighting the role of the private sector and the civil society institutes; considering them major partners in suggesting and implementing necessary plans and programs fundamental to boosting development in Arab States on firm and sustainable basis.

Hosting this economic and social forum represents the fruits of sincere efforts aimed at widening the participation of the private sector and civil society institutions in examining means of confronting the economic and social challenges facing Arab States.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

As you are aware, Arab States are confronting at the present time, various economic and social challenges that confirm the need to prioritize and develop methods and procedures which we all seek to apply in confronting these challenges. The issues and points of discussion on the agenda of the economic and social forum reflect the most important economic and social challenges confronting our Arab States. At the forefront of the issues to be raised and explored in the sessions of this forum are aspects of the global financial crisis, their impact on the situation in the banking and financial sectors in the Arab States, the role required to coordinate and cooperate between the relevant bodies to tackle these circumstances, means of enhancing aspects of efficiency in the performance of the banking and financial sectors in various Arab States in order to overcome the challenges of the current phase effectively and competently.

The agenda also includes numerous issues that reflect the desire to strengthen ties of joint Arab action in matters related to developing and diversifying Arab capability and structural production; primarily probing ways of expanding Intra-Arab trade and investments, as well as aspects of Arab food security and agricultural policies, energy, water, climate and environmental changes.

The Forum also discusses issues concerning education and scientific research, which are fundamental elements of comprehensive and sustainable development, and the basic pillars for the bright future we seek to attain and devise its strong and firm structure.

A special session has been designated to discuss the situation of youths, unemployment, emigration and drugs; considering them vital issues of which decision makers in our Arab States are mindful of their grave impact.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

We attach high hopes on the results of this forum, where numerous experts and specialists participate to reach practical recommendations on means of achieving the required qualitative leap in the course of joint Arab action, and towards attaining its objectives on the long run.

We welcome you once again in your second home Kuwait, and wish you every success in your endeavours.
"And say: Work; so Allah will see your work and (so will) His Messenger and the believers"
Al-Tawba, 105

Almighty Allah has spoken TheTruth.

Wassalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء في افتتاح المنتدى الاقتصادي والاجتماعي للقمة العربية الاقتصادية والتنموية والاجتماعية (19 - 20 يناير 2009) دولة الكويت  
  17 يناير 2009  
     
 

معالي الأخ الأمين العام لجامعة الدول العربية
أصحاب المعالي الأخوة الوزراء 
الأخوات والأخوة الضيوف                         المحترمين
الحضور الكرام ...

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته .. وبعد ،
يشرفني بالنيابة عن حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح ، أمير دولة الكويت حفظه الله ورعاه ، أن أنقل إليكم خالص ترحيبه بكم جميعا ، وتمنياته الصادقة بأن يحقق هذا اللقاء الأخوي كل ما نصبو إليه من تقدم ورفعة وازدهار لبلادنا وشعوبنا العربية جمعاء .
و يسرني أن أرحب بكم جميعا على أرض دولة الكويت ، والتي يسعدها أن تستضيف فعاليات هذا المنتدى الاقتصادي والاجتماعي، الذي يعقد ضمن فعاليات القمة العربية الاقتصادية والتنموية والاجتماعية ، التي تتشرف دولة الكويت باستضافتها خلال الفترة من 19 – 20 يناير الجاري .

الأخوات والإخوة الكرام

إن الأنظار تتطلع إلى لقاء أصحاب الجلالة والفخامة والسمو  قادة الأمة العربية الذي يكتسب أهمية كبيرة في ظل الظروف والتحديات التي تمر بها الأمة العربية خاصة مع استمرار العدوان الإسرائيلي الوحشي على أشقائنا الفلسطينيين في قطاع غزة .
وإذ نعرب عن بالغ الأسف لاستمرار الوضع المأساوي الذي يشهده قطاع غزه والمعاناة الشديدة التي يتعرض لها الأشقاء الفلسطينيون ، فإننا نؤكد مجددا مطالبتنا للمجتمع الدولي بالوقف الفوري لذلك العدوان الهمجي  ، والتحرك العاجل لتحقيق سلام عادل وشامل ودائم في منطقة الشرق الأوسط بما يضمن حق الشعب الفلسطيني في إقامة دولته المستقلة وعاصمتها القدس الشريف .
إننا وأمام هذه الظروف وتلك التحديات مطالبون بالعمل الجاد والفعال لتحقيق التكامل الاقتصادي الذي يوفر لنا أسباب القوة ومواجهة التحديات ضمانا لمستقبل أفضل في عالم لم يعد فيه مكان للضعف أو التفكك .

الأخوات والأخوة الكرام ....

لا شك أن السنوات العشر الماضية ، قد شهدت سعي العديد من الدول العربية للمزيد من سياسات الإصلاح الاقتصادي التي تهدف إلى ضبط الموازنات العامة ، وتحرير التجارة والأسعار ، وتحسين البيئة التشريعية بما يواكب التطورات والمستجدات المرتبطة بثورة المعلومات والاتصالات وتحرير الأسواق .
كما بذلت العديد من الدول العربية جهودا ملموسة لتشجيع الاستثمار المحلي والأجنبي للقيام بدوره المنشود في دفع مسيرة عجلة التنمية وتوفير فرص العمل المنتج للمواطنين .
ولا يخفى عليكم أن التحديات مازالت كبيرة والعقبات متداخلة في الوقت الذي تتزايد فيه الطموحات .
لذلك فإن الرغبة في تجاوز الصعاب باتت مطلبا ضروريا لا بديل عنه ،  وأصبحت هاجسا يراود الجميع .
وانطلاقا من حرص دولة الكويت على تعزيز وتطوير أواصر التعاون العربي المشترك في كافة المجالات ، خاصة الاقتصادية منها، كانت الدعوة السامية لحضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد ، حفظه الله ورعاه ، إلى عقد القمة العربية الاقتصادية والتنموية والاجتماعية .
ويأتي ذلك إيمانا من دولة الكويت بأن بحث الأمور الاقتصادية والتنموية والاجتماعية يعتبر وسيلة أكثر فاعلية لتعميق الروابط بين الدول العربية ، وتحقيق التكامل المنشود بينها ، وإحداث نقلة نوعية في مختلف مجالات العمل الاقتصادي العربي المشترك لخدمة المصالح العليا لأمتنا العربية وتطلعات شعوبها.
وأود الإشارة إلى الجهود المبذولة سواء من جانب كل من الأجهزة المعنية في الأمانة العامة لجامعة الدول العربية بالقاهرة والأجهزة المعنية بدولة الكويت منذ الإعلان عن الدعوة لهذه القمة في عاصمة المملكة العربية السعودية الشقيقة  ( الرياض ) خلال القمة العربية التي عقدت في مارس عام 2007 ، وعلى وجه الخصوص أود أن أشيد بحرص تلك الأجهزة على ضرورة أن تصاحب فعاليات هذه القمة اجتماعات ولقاءات ومشاورات تهدف إلى تفعيل وإبراز دور القطاع الخاص ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني ، باعتبارهم شركاء أساسيين في مجال اقتراح وتنفيذ الخطط والبرامج اللازمة لتعزيز مسيرة التنمية في دولنا العربية على أسس راسخة ومستدامة  .
إن انعقاد هذا المنتدى الاقتصادي والاجتماعي يمثل ثمرة للجهود المخلصة الرامية إلى توسيع مشاركة القطاع الخاص ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني في بحث السبل الكفيلة لمواجهة التحديات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي تواجه دولنا العربية.

الأخوات والأخوة الحضور ...

كما تعلمون ، فإن دولنا العربية تواجه في الوقت الحاضر مجموعة متنوعة من التحديات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية ، تؤكد الحاجة إلى ترتيب الأولويات وتطوير الأساليب والإجراءات التي نسعى جميعا إلى تطبيقها لمواجهة تلك التحديات . وتعكس الموضوعات والمحاور المطروحة على جدول أعمال هذا المنتدى الاقتصادي والاجتماعي أبرز التحديات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي تواجه دولنا العربية ، ويأتي في مقدمة تلك الموضوعات المطروحة للبحث في جلسات هذا المنتدى دراسة جوانب الأزمة المالية العالمية وآثارها على أوضاع القطاعات المصرفية والمالية في الدول العربية، والدور المنشود لمتطلبات التنسيق والتعاون بين الأجهزة المعنية لمواجهة هذه الأوضاع، وسبل تعزيز جوانب الكفاءة في أداء الوحدات المصرفية والمالية في مختلف دولنا العربية لنتمكن من تجاوز تحديات المرحلة الراهنة بكفاءة واقتدار .
كما يتضمن جدول أعمال المنتدى العديد من الموضوعات التي تعكس الرغبة في تعزيز أواصر العمل العربي المشترك في القضايا المرتبطة بتنمية الطاقات والهياكل الإنتاجية العربية وتنويعها ، ويأتي في مقدمتها بحث سبل توسيع التجارة والاستثمارات العربية البينية، وكذلك جوانب الأمن الغذائي العربي والسياسات الزراعية ، والطاقة والنقل والمياه وتغيرات المناخ والبيئة . 
 ويتناول المنتدى أيضا  بحث القضايا المرتبطة بالتعليم والبحث العلمي وهما من المحاور الأساسية للتنمية الشاملة والمستدامة، والركيزة الأساسية لمستقبل مشرق نسعى لبلوغه وصياغة مقوماته القوية والثابتة . 
كما تم تخصيص جلسة خاصة ضمن جلسات هذا المنتدى  لمناقشة أوضاع الشباب والبطالة والهجرة والمخدرات باعتبارها قضايا هامة يدرك صانعو القرار في دولنا العربية خطورة آثارها السلبية .

الأخوات والأخوة المحترمين  ....

أملنا كبير في أن تتوصل أعمال هذا المنتدى ، الذي تشارك فيه كفاءات وخبرات متنوعة ومتعددة ، إلى توصيات ومقترحات عملية حول سبل تحقيق النقلة النوعية المستهدفة في مسيرة العمل العربي المشترك نحو بلوغ أهدافه على المدى البعيد.
مرة أخرى أرحب بكم على أرض دولة الكويت بلدكم الثاني، متمنيا لكم التوفيق والسداد .

" وقل اعملوا فسيرى الله عملكم ورسوله والمؤمنون "
                                                                  صدق الله العظيم

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،

 

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة