Speeches
  The address of His Highness the Prime Minister at the Second Round Table Talks in the High Level Meeting on Climate Change  
  22 September 2009  
     
 

In the holy name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful

Your Excellencies, Your Highness’s,

Dear Guests,

I am pleased to welcome you to our interactive meeting on Climate Change, on behalf of you all, I extend my sincere appreciation to the Secretary General of the United Nations for his distinguished and diligent efforts by holding such constructive meetings to serve our world, and his desire to find practical and creative solutions ahead of the Copenhagen Conference on Climate Change due to be held in December of this year.

Your Excellencies, Your Highness’s,

Since the global endorsement of the 1992 Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Kyoto Protocol endorsed in 1997 which came into effect in 2005, the world has been experiencing climate change resulting from increased and diversified economic activity. Instead of attaining the required level of gas emissions for the first phase of the convention for the period between 2008 to 2010, which was agreed on previously, some relevant industrial countries began to give excuses for failing to reach the required levels. Therefore, we incite industrial countries to observe the levels agreed upon; we call on them to assist developing countries in transferring their experiences and technical know- how to permit all developed, developing and poor countries to preserve our environment and earth.

Your Excellencies, Your Highness’s,

As we appeal to industrial countries to assume their international responsibilities, we, as developing countries, with a desire to increase the levels of economic development must agree on a course of action following the Kyoto Convention, and the Copenhagen Conference. This will provide us all with the opportunity to reach an agreement of opinion and achieve sustainable reduction of gas emissions in our joint interest to preserve our world.

We wish to take the opportunity during our meeting, to listen to opinions and valuable ideas from participants, which would effectively contribute to protecting our environment, and our future. Climate indicators such as the widening of the ozone hole, the thinning ice caps, increased water levels threatening Island nations and increased levels of carbon dioxide are dangerous and worrying indicators that require collective and concerted global efforts to find solutions.

Your Excellencies, Your Highness’s,

The United Nations Secretary General, in acknowledging the significance of the private sector’s participation in our meeting, and the importance of listening to proposals presented by the private sector for other solutions that invest in alternative energy in order to adapt our economies to become “Environmentally Friendly Economies” through which environmentally harmful gas emissions may be eliminated; we must hold talks and discussions with the private sector, and provide any possible support so that it may present us with original and creative solutions, transforming our economies into “Green Economies”.

On the national level, the government of Kuwait seeks to comply with international conventions aimed at preserving the environment, and has initiated the implementation of a national plan of action to transform ozone layer depleting substances from consumer sectors into environmentally friendly technologies, and through this accomplishment, the State of Kuwait was awarded an international laurel from the U.S Environmental Protection Agency, and we shall achieve complete compliance at the onset of 2010.

Kuwait’s donation of $150,000,000 to the OPEC Conference held in Riyadh (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) in 2006 towards supporting scientific research programmes pertaining to energy and climate change, are a keen expression of Kuwait’s awareness of the importance of protecting our environment and our ecological surroundings. Therefore, my country will be hosting an international conference for “Alternative Energy Applications” next month (November), and civil societies from 92 countries will be participating.

With Allah’s blessing we begin our meeting, wishing us all success, Thankyou.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء في المائدة المستديرة الثانية في الاجتماع رفيع المستوى للتغير المناخي  
  22 سبتمبر 2009  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي 
الضيوف الكرام ،،،

يسعدني الترحيب بكم في اجتماعنا التفاعلي هذا ، بشأن ظاهرة التغير المناخي ، وأتقدم باسمكم جميعا ، بخالص الشكر والتقدير ، للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ، على جهوده المتميزة والدؤوبة ، في عقد مثل هذه الاجتماعات الهادفة إلى خدمة عالمنا ، ورغبته بإيجاد حلول عملية ومبتكرة ، قبل انعقاد مؤتمر كوبنهاجن حول التغير المناخي في شهر ديسمبر من هذا العام .

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي ،،،

منذ الاتفاق العالمي على الاتفاقية الإطارية للمناخ عام 1992 وبروتوكول ( كيوتو )  الذي تم التوقيع عليه في 1997 ، والذي دخل حيز النفاذ في 2005 ، والعالم يمر بتغيرات مناخية ، ناتجة عن تزايد وتنوع النشاط الاقتصادي البشري ، فبدل أن نصل إلى معدل خفض انبعاث الغازات المطلوب خلال المرحلة الأولى ، من الاتفاقية للفترة من 2008 وحتى 2012 ، والذي تم الاتفـاق عليه سابقا ، بدأت بعض الدول الصناعية المعنية ، بالتعذر بشأن عدم إمكانية الوصول إلى النسب المطلوبة ، لذا  فإننا نحث الدول الصناعية على الالتزام  بالمعدلات المتفق عليها ، ونطلب منها مساعدة الدول النامية ، في نقل تجاربها والمعرفة الفنية  لتتمكن كافة الدول المتقدمة والنامية والفقيرة من حماية بيئتنا وأرضنا .

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي ،،،

مثلما نطالب الدول الصناعية ، بتحمل مسؤولياتها الدولية ، فإننا كدول نامية وراغبة بزيادة معدلات النمو الاقتصادي ، علينا أن نتفق على ما سنقوم به ، في الفترة التي أعقبت اتفاق كيوتو ، وبعد مؤتمر كوبنهاجن ، الأمر الذي سيكون فرصة سانحة، لنا جميعا للتوصل إلى توافق في الآراء لتحقيق خفض مستدام في انبعاث الغازات بما يخدم مصالحنا المشتركة ويحفظ عالمنا.

ونود أن نغتنم اجتماعنا هذا ، الاستماع إلى آراء وأفكار قيمة ، من الحضور ، تساهم بشكل فعال ، بالحفاظ على بيئتنا ، وعلى مستقبلنا ، فالمؤشرات المناخية ، من اتساع ثقب الأوزون ، وترقرق طبقات الجليد ، وارتفاع المياه ، بما يهدد وجود الدول الجزرية ، وتزايد نسبة ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، لهي مؤشرات خطيرة ومقلقة ، ينبغي أن تتضافر جهودنا العالمية مجتمعة لإيجاد حلول لها .

أصحاب الفخامة والسمو والمعالي ،،،

تلمسا من الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة ، لأهمية مشاركة القطاع الخاص ، في اجتماعنا هذا ، ولأهمية أن نستمع إلى ما يمكن أن يقدمه القطاع الخاص ، من حلول أخري في استثمار الطاقة البديلة ، وفي تكييف اقتصادياتنا ،  لتصبح اقتصاديات صديقة للبيئة ، يمكن من خلالها الحـد من انبعاث الغازات المضرة للبيئة ، فإنه يجب علينا ، أن نتحاور ونتناقش مع القطاع الخاص،  ونقدم له الدعم الممكن ، ليقدموا لنا حلولا خلاقة ومبتكرة ، تحول أنظمتنا الاقتصادية إلى اقتصاديات خضراء .

وعلى المستوى الوطني لبلدي الكويت فان الحكومة تسعى جاهدة للالتزام بالاتفاقيات الدولية الهادفة لحماية البيئة ، فقد بادرت دولة الكويت بتنفيذ خطة عمل وطنية ، لتحويل المواد المستنفذة لطبقة الأوزون ، في القطاعات الاستهلاكية إلى تكنولوجيات صديقة للبيئة ، وحصلت بهذا الإنجاز ، على جائزة دولية ، من وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية ، وسوف نحقق التزامنا الكامل بذلك فى بداية عام 2010 .

كما أن تبرع الكويت فى مؤتمر الأوبك الذى عقد فى الرياض عاصمة المملكة العربية السعودية ، فى عام 2006 ، بقيمة (150.000.000) مائة وخمسون مليون دولار لتحويل برنامج البحوث العلمية المتصلة بالطاقة والتغير المناخي ،لهو أبلغ تعبير عن ادراك الكويت لأهمية حماية بيئتنا ، ومحيطنا الأيكولوجي ، ولذلك تستضيف بلدي فى شهر نوفمبر القادم ، محفلا دوليا لتطبيقات الطاقة البديلة ، وسوف يشارك فيها منظمات المجتمع المدني من ( 92 ) دولة .

فعلي بركة الله نبدأ اجتماعنا ، متمنيا النجاح والتوفيق لنا ، وشكرا لكم ......

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة