Speeches
  At the inauguration of Al-Babtain Central Library for Arabic Poetry.  
  8 April 2006  
     
 

In the Holy name of Allah, most gracious, most merciful

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am honoured to be here to represent His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah. His Highness extends his best wishes and welcomes you all to Kuwait, as it celebrates today, a unique accomplishment in the field of Arab culture with the inauguration of Al-Babtain Central Library for Arabic Poetry adding a new dimension to intellect and culture by collecting, documenting, cataloging, researching and publishing Arabic poetry.

His Highness had kindly laid the cornerstone of this structure for the new poetic culture, on the sixth of January 2002, through his belief in the significant diversity of Arab culture which enhances the present and future of the "Ummah" nation. It is also the desire of the Kuwaiti people, their leadership and institutes to exert all efforts for the sake of elevating the Arab identity and promoting Arab culture.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Arabic poetry has long been an anthology for Arabs, whereby they preserve and chronicle their lives and achievements, their customs and traditions, their joys and sorrows. However, this collection required a volume to preserve, document, publish and revive it, and this task, we hope, will be performed by Al-Babtain Central Library for Arabic Poetry as it is the first specialized library in Arabic poetry across the Arab world, utilizing the finest technology, library science, and modern communications in preservation, classification, inspection and publishing.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am convinced this unique library, which is the latest addition to the long list of Kuwait's contributions in serving the Arab culture, will become an integral part of the new construction of the Kuwait National Library ,which will soon be completed, as well as to the rest of the national libraries spread across the Arab world.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Globalization requires the world to conform to concocted values and outlandish customs influenced by the media and international communications; which raise a pressing need for each society and nation to reinforce its culture, language and individual identity, protecting them from alienation and estrangement, embracing at the same time, the means for progress and development without hampering societies in keeping pace with global development and progress.

Perhaps you will agree with me, since you represent the intellectual elite in our Arab and Islamic Ummah that our societies have known, apart from the Quran and the sound educational curriculum, nothing more appropriate than poetry as a means of preserving our exquisite Arabic language and its ancient traditions in order to pass them on to future generations, raising youths with good command of their language, who are aware of the value of their culture and heritage, youths who adhere to their religious and linguistic identity preserving and maintaining it, grasping it and taking pride in it.

I avail myself the opportunity on this occasion, to commend our dear brother Mr. Abdulaziz Saud Al-Babtain, President of the Board of Trustees for the Foundation of Abdulaziz Saud al-Babtain Award for Poetic Creativity; he took it upon himself to attend to this branch of literature and enrich it through  numerous accomplishments of the foundation by holding poetic ceremonies to perpetuate the memory of Arab and Muslim poets, and of distinguished cultural creations through various valuable publications ranging from dictionaries, poetic anthologies, references, contests and pamphlets. The latest is this affluent addition to the civilized and cultural features of the State of Kuwait and the Arab world.


Ladies and Gentlemen,


In the name of Kuwait which lives by the religion of Islam, Arabism which is our identity, cooperation our direction, compassion our precept and peace our objective; we wish you all the best and welcome you once again to this fine gathering.

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمـــــة سمـــــوه في افتتـــــاح مكتبة البابطيــــــن المركزية للشعر العربي  
  8 أبريل 2006  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

الأخوات و الأخوة الكرام

يسعدني و يشرفني أن أنوب عن سيدي حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح، حفظه الله و رعاه ، و أن أنقل لكم تحيات سموه و ترحيبه بكم في بلدكم الكويت ، التي تحتفي اليوم بإنجاز فريد في ميدان الثقافة العربية ، مع افتتاح مكتبة البابطين المركزية للشعر العربي لتشرق بذلك على أرض دولة الكويت منارة جديدة من منارات الفكر و الثقافة ، تعنى بالشعر العربي جمعا و توثيقا و فهرسة و بحثا و نشرا.
لقد تفضل حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح ، في السادس من يناير لعام 2002 برعاية كريمة بوضع حجر الأساس لهذه المنارة الثقافية الشعرية الجديدة ، التي يحتويها هذا المبني الأنيق. إيمانا من سموه حفظه الله و رعاه، بأهمية مختلف روافد التراث الثقافي العربي في تعزيز حاضر الأمة و مستقبلها، و في إطار حرص دولة الكويت شعباً و مؤسسات و قيادة على بذل كل جهد من أجل إعلاء الهوية العربية، و تعزيز الثقافة العربية.

الأخوات و الأخوة ...

لقد كان الشعر العربي دوماً ديواناً للعرب، حفظ و أرخ مسيرتهم و إنجازاتهم، عاداتهم و تقاليدهم، أفراحهم وأحزانهم، غير أن هذا الديوان احتاج بدوره إلى ديوان حافظ يجمعه و يوثق له ، و ينشره و يجدده، و هي مهمة نأمل أن تقوم بها مكتبة البابطين المركزية للشعر العربي، على أكمل وجه كأول مكتبة متخصصة في الشعر العربي في العالم، متسلحة في مهمتها هذه بأحدث ما وصلت إليه التقنيات و علو م المكتبات والاتصالات الحديثة في مجال الحفظ و التبويب و الاطلاع و النشر.

الأخوات و الأخوة الكرام ...

إنني على قناعة كبيرة بأن هذه المكتبة الفريدة ، و التي هي أحدث حلقة في سلسلة طويلة من إسهامات الكويت في خدمة الثقافة العربية ، ستكون مكملاً أساسياً لمشروع البناء الجديد للمكتبة الوطنية الكويتية التي سترى النور قريباً بإذن الله ، و لباقي المكتبات الوطنية المنتشرة في ربوع عالمنا العربي.

أيها الأخوات و الأخوة ... 

إن زمن العولمة الذي نعيشه في عصرنا هذا ، يفرض على العالم كله التماثل مع قيم مستحدثة، و عادات دخيلة، في ظل سطوة وسائل الإعلام و الاتصال العالمية، بما يجعل الحاجة ملحة أمام كل مجتمع و كل أمة لتحصين ثقافتها و لغتها و هويتها الخاصة، و حمايتها من الانسلاخ و التغريب ، في نفس الوقت الذي تأخذ فيه بأسباب التقدم و الرقي بما لا يمنعها من مجاراة العالم في ارتقائه و تطوره.
و لعلكم تتفقون معي و أنتم تمثلون صفوة مثقفي أمتنا العربية و الإسلامية ، أن مجتمعاتنا لم تعرف بعد كتاب الله ثم المناهج التربوية التعليمية السليمة ما هو أفضل من الشعر كحافظ للغتنا العربية الجميلة و تقاليدها العريقة و نقلها إلى أجيال المستقبل، مع تربية ناشئة تتقن لغتها و تمسك بنواصي الكلمة الطيبة، و تعي قيمة تراثها و موروثاتها، ناشئة تتمسك بهويتها الدينية و اللغوية ، تحافظ عليها و تصونها، تستوعبها و تعتز بها.

و أغتنم هذه المناسبة لأشيد بالأخ الكريم عبد العزيز سعود البابطين رئيس مجلس أمناء مؤسسة جائزة عبد العزيز سعود البابطين للإبداع الشعري، الذي حمل على عاتقه الاهتمام بهذا الفرع من الآداب، و الاعتناء به وإثراءه من خلال مختلف إنجازات المؤسسة، من مهرجانات شعرية تخلد ذكرى الشعراء العرب و المسلمين، ومن إنتاج ثقافي متميز، عبر مختلف الإصدارات القيمة من معاجم و دواوين شعرية و مراجع و مسابقات ومنشورات، و آخرها هذه الإضافة الثرية للمعالم الحضارية و الثقافية في دولة الكويت و العالم العربي.

الأخوات و الأخوة ...

باسم الكويت و هي تعيش الإسلام دينا و العروبة وطناً و التعاون طريقاً و السماحة شعاراً و السلام غاية، لكم منا التحية و الشكر و الترحيب و الحمد لله الذي جمعنا على الخير، وفقكم الله،

و السلام عليكم و رحمة الله  وبركاته,,,

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة