Speeches
  The address of the representative of His Highness the Amir, His Highness the Prime Minister before the high level meeting” Millennium Development Goals Summit”  
  20 September 2010  
     
 

Your Excellencies, 
I am honored at the outset, to convey to you the compliments of His Highness the Amir of the State of Kuwait and his best wishes for the success of this important meeting to achieve the results world nations aspire to.
I am also pleased to express on behalf of the government and people of the State of Kuwait our felicitations for chairing the high level meeting to review the MDGs, and we are confident that your wise leadership and good offices will contribute to achieving our aspirations. I also wish to to express our gratitude and appreciation to the United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon, who submitted a comprehensive report on the accomplishments, objectives and causes for the delay in attaining them in the critical document titled" Keeping the promise: a forward- looking Review to Promote and Agreed Action Agenda to Achieve the MDGs by 2015".

Your Excellencies,
During the historical Millennium summit that was held at the onset of the current century, leaders and heads of state set an agenda and a road map to achieve the noble development targets for nations of the world who are in dire need of them. The programmme was a beacon that lit the way to achieve those objectives, and five years ago, world leaders met again at the first review conference when optimism prevailed; since indications were promising and statistics showed the extent of responses from countries, particularly the least developed countries and the most effected in Sub-Saharan Africa and Asia, spreading enthusiasm and determination to exert further effort and adhere to courses for achieving the MDGs.

Our current meeting, which is considered a vital opportunity to review MDGs shows non-encouraging indications, especially those pertaining to the first goal which is related to reducing the global percentage of poverty and starvation to the half. This presents a real challenge facing the international community to combat this epidemic. Instead of falling, the number of poor increased from 800 million in 1990 to over a billion in 2009,. Therefore, we must keep the promise we made, specially the developed countries, in fulfilling their commitments in line with the Monterry Conference and the Doha Declaration "Financing for Development" by allocating 0.7% of its GDP to assist in official development.

Your Excellencies,
Since our previous conference in 2005, the world has witnessed crises and huge challenges represented in the rise in food stuff prices, fluctuating energy prices ,followed by a strangling financial and economic crisis threatening the global economic system and political and social stability of some countries and suffered by all countries without exception. The impact was heavier on developing countries and the least developed countries more than others in spite of them not being party to this crisis or the causes that lead to it.
While we welcome the steps and policies taken by numerous international and regional organizations to confront this crisis , alleviate its impact and prevent its repetition; there is more we can do to revive the global economy and achieve a fair and balanced international trade system. Other grave challenges facing our world that require unified and collective effort are climate change and its impact on all aspects of life, such as economic and commercial activities and their negative implication on the environment, ecological system and biodiversity. The world also witnessed in the last few years an increase in natural disasters, which are a result of climate change; more violent and destructive, leaving their wake great loss in life and possessions, such as the destructive earthquake that hit Haiti last January, and the floods that devastated Pakistan last month. We hope at our upcoming conference that will be held in Cancun- Mexico next December, to reach a legally binding document defining the steps and policies required, and the responsibilities undertaken by the developed and developing countries to eliminate the effects of climate change and assist developing countries to adapt to its results.
We wish on this account to confirm that the United Nations remains the multi-sided mechanism with the most credibility, legitimacy, and neutrality to discuss the best means of reaching joint and collective solutions to the global risks and challenges.

Your Excellencies,
The State of Kuwait believes that the development goals which the world aspires to achieve by 2015  are attainable, and there are positive indications to support this belief, like the improvement in the numbers attending  schools, mother and child healthcare, widening the scope of access to clean water, advancing in the combat of dangerous diseases such as HIV and Aids, Malariya and Tuberculosis. However, the progress and positive results require persistent efforts to maintain and support them , particularly that the challenges the world confronts are numerous, since a large percentage of the world population in certain areas, suffer from poverty, starvation critical diseases, an increase in unemployment and illiteracy, displacement as well as the negative impact of armed conflict and foreign occupation, not to mention the dangers of the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, including nuclear weapons, cross border organized crime, drug trafficking, the spread of terrorism and violation of human rights. All these problems epitomize a real threat to security and international peace, obstructing the aspiration for sustainable development.

Your Excellencies,
The State of Kuwait strives, with all that is in its power, to achieve the MDGs  and works towards the welfare of the Kuwaiti people as economic and social indicators in the State of Kuwait have exceeded targets and ranked highly on the regional and international levels according to reports from the United Nations Agencies on human development. Efforts are now consolidated and all capabilities are being mobilized to implement the national development plan for the years 2010-2014 estimated at a cost of around $115 billion dollars, it is an ambitious plan to advance all state sectors, develop infrastructure and raise the level of healthcare services and education, which paves the way for Kuwait become a financial and commercial hub in the region.
In continuing the State of Kuwait's approach to offering assistance to developing countries, the Kuwait Fund for Economic Development remains committed in its efforts to support and finance development projects in more than 100 countries at a total of nearly $15 billion dollars, reaching an average of double the required percentage offered from state's national income. The State of Kuwait renews its commitment to continue offering development and financial assistance to needy countries and raise their capabilities to fulfill their development needs.

Your Excellencies,
We are aware of the enourmity of the international responsibility and the difficulties and challenges hampering many countries from reaching the objectives and the MDGs, but we are confident that the goals are attainable if the political will and total conviction in joint and collective action are present, and commitment to resolutions and promises are undertaken. Let us all act for the welfare and dignity of our peoples, guided by the principles of the United Nations charter and complete respect of international law.

Thank you Your Excellencies.

Wassalamu Alikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة ممثل حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد المفدى حفظه الله ورعاه سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء أمام الاجتماع رفيع المستوى " قمة مراجعة الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية "  
  20 سبتمبر 2010  
     
 

السادة الرؤساء ،

يشرفني في البداية أن أنقل لكم تحيات سمو أمير دولة الكويت وتمنياته الخالصة بنجاح أعمال هذا الاجتماع الهام وتحقيق النتائج التي تتطلع إليها شعوب العالم،  كما يسعدني أن أتقدم لكم باسم حكومة وشعب دولة الكويت بالتهنئة على رئاستكما للاجتماع رفيع المستوى لمراجعة أهداف الألفية الإنمائية ونحن على ثقة بأن قيادتكم الحكيمة وحسن إدارتكم سوف تساهم في تحقيق ما نصبو اليه ، كما أود تقديم جزيل الشكر والتقدير إلى الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة السيد بان كي مون الذي قدم تقريرا متكاملا عن الانـجازات التي تحققت والأهداف المنشودة وسبب تأخر الوصول إليها في الوثيقة الهامة التي تحمل عنوان " الوفاء بالوعد: استعراض تطلعي لتعزيز وضع برنامج عمل متفق عليه لبلوغ الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية بحلول عام 2015 " .

السادة الرؤساء ،

في قمة الألفية التاريخية التي عقدت في مطلع القرن الحالي وضع قادة ورؤساء حكومات الدول برنامجا زمنيا وخارطة طريق لتحقيق اهداف إنمائية نبيلة لشعوب العالم الذين هم في حاجة شديدة إليها ، وقد كان هذا البرنامج بمثابة نبراس أضاء الطريق للعمل على تحقيق تلك الأهداف ، وقبل خمسة أعوام اجتمع قادة العالم مرة أخرى في مؤتمر المراجعة الأول حيث كان التفاؤل يعم الجميع ، فالمؤشرات مشجعة والإحصائيات التي توضح مدى تجاوب الدول وخاصة الدول الأقل نموا والأكثر تأثرا في جنوب الصحراء الكبرى في إفريقيا واسيا أشاعت الحماس والتصميم على بذل المزيد والالتزام بمسارات تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية .

غير أن اجتماعنا الحالي والذي يعتبر فرصة هامة لمراجعة الأهداف الألفية الإنمائية تسيطر عليه مؤشرات غير مشجعة خاصة بالنسبة للهدف الاول المتعلق بتخفيض معدلات الفقر والجوع العالمية الى النصف والذي يشكل تحديا حقيقيا امام المجتمع الدولي لمكافحة هذه الآفات ، فعدد الفقراء ارتفع من 800 مليون شخص عام 1990 ليصل الى اكثر من مليار شخص عام 2009 بدلا من ان ينخفض .

لذا لابد من الالتزام بالتعهدات السابقة وعلى وجه الخصوص وفاء الدول المتقدمة بما التزمت به في توافق آراء مونتيري وإعلان الدوحة " التمويل من أجل التنمية " بتخصيص 0,7 % من ناتجها القومي الإجمالي للمساعدة الإنمائية الرسمية .

السادة الرؤساء ،

شهد العالم منذ مؤتمرنا الأخير في عام 2005 أزمات وتحديات هائلة تمثلت بارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية وتذبذب في أسعار الطاقة جاءت في أعقابها أزمة مالية واقتصادية خانقة هددت النظام الاقتصادي العالمي والاستقرار السياسي والاجتماعي لبعض الدول وعانت منها كافة الدول بدون استثناء وتأثرت الدول النامية والدول الأقل نموا بدرجة أكبر من غيرها رغم أنها لم تكن معنية بحدوث هذه الأزمة او الأسباب التي أدت إليها.

وفي الوقت الذي نرحب فيه بالخطوات والسياسات التي اتخذتها عدد من المجاميع الدولية والاقليمية لمواجهة هذه الأزمة والتخفيف من آثارها ومنع تكرارها الا انه مازال هناك المزيد الذي يمكننا القيام به لتعافي الاقتصاد العالمي وتحقيق نظام تجاري دولي متوازن وعادل ، ومن التحديات الخطيرة الأخرى التي تواجه عالمنا وتستدعي جهدا مشتركا وموحدا لمواجهتها هي ظاهرة تغير المناخ وتأثيرها على جميع مناحي الحياة من أنشطة اقتصادية وتجارية إلى انعكاساتها السلبية على البيئة والنظام الايكولوجي والتنوع البيولوجي ، كما بدأ يشهد العالم في السنوات القليلة الماضية زيادة في عدد الكوارث الطبيعية التي أصبحت بسبب التقلبات المناخية أكثر عنفا وتدميرا وتنجم عنها خسائر هائلة في الأرواح والممتلكات كالزلزال المدمر الذي ضرب هايتي في يناير الماضي والفيضانات التي اجتاحت باكستان في الشهر الماضي ونأمل بأن نتمكن في المؤتمر القادم الذي سيعقد في مدينة كانكون - المكسيك في شهر ديسمبر القادم من التوصل إلى وثيقة ملزمة قانونيا تحدد الخطوات والسياسات المطلوبة والمسؤوليات التي تتحملها الدول المتقدمة والنامية للحد من تأثيرات تغير المناخ ومساعدة الدول النامية على التكيف مع نتائجه وإفرازاته.

ومع أن هذه المصاعب عرقلت مساعي كثيرة من الدول وأثرت في قدرتها على تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية إلا أننا نتفق مع ما جاء في تقرير الأمين العام بأن الأهداف الإنمائية الألفية مازالت قابلة للتحقيق في موعدها اذا توافر الالتزام الكافي والسياسات المناسبة والموارد والجهود الكافية لذا نرى بأن هذا الاجتماع يعد مناسبة هامة لتجديد الالتزام والعزم على تحمل مسؤولياتنا وتنفيذ تعهداتنا وحشد طاقاتنا من أجل عالم أفضل تضيق فيه فجوة الخلافات والانقسامات والصراعات التي يغذيها غياب العدالة والمساواة ، وتتسع فيه آفاق التعاون والشراكة ويسوده الأمن والسلام .

ونود في هذا الشأن التأكيد بأن الامم المتحدة تبقى الآلية المتعددة الأطراف الأكثر مصداقية وشرعية وحيادية لمناقشة أفضل السبل والوسائل من اجل التوصل ألى حلول مشتركة وجماعية للتحديات والمخاطر العالمية .

السادة الرؤساء ،

تؤمن دولة الكويت بأن الأهداف الإنمائية التي ينشد العالم تحقيقها بحلول عام 2015 ممكن الوصول إليها وهناك مؤشرات إيجابية تدعم هذا الإيمان مثل تحسن معدلات القيد في المدارس وصحة الطفل وصحة الأمهات الحوامل وتوسيع نطاق الحصول على المياه النظيفة والتقدم في مكافحة الأمراض الخطيرة مثل مرض نقص المناعة المكتسبة (الايدز) والملاريا  والسل،  لكن هذا التقدم المحرز والنتائج الايجابية بحاجة الى جهود حثيثة للمحافظة عليها وتدعيمها لاسيما ان التحديات التي تواجه العالم كثيرة فما تزال نسبة كبيرة من سكان العالم في مناطق معينة تعاني من الفقر والجوع والأمراض الخطيرة وارتفاع معدلات البطالة والأمية والتشرد إضافة الى الآثار السلبية للصراعات المسلحة والاحتلال الأجنبي ناهيك عن مخاطر انتشار اسلحة الدمار الشامل بما فيها الأسلحة النووية ، والجريمة المنظمة العابرة للحدود ، والاتجار بالمخدرات ، وانتشار ظاهرة الإرهاب وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان وكل هذه المصاعب تشكل في مجملها تهديدا حقيقيا للأمن والسلم الدوليين وتعيق تحقيق التنمية المستدامة المنشودة .

السادة الرؤساء ،

تسعى دولة الكويت بكل طاقاتها لتحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية والعمل على رفاهية افراد الشعب الكويتي حيث تفوقت مؤشرات التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في دولة الكويت على المعدلات المستهدفة واحتلت مراتب متقدمة على المستويين الاقليمي والدولي وفقا لتقارير وكالات الامم المتحدة المعنية بالتنمية البشرية وتتضافر حاليا الجهود ويتم حشد كافة الإمكانات لتنفيذ خطة التنمية الوطنية للأعوام 2010 -2014 والتي تقدر تكلفتها بحدود 115 مليار دولار ، وهي خطة طموحة تهدف الى النهوض بكافة قطاعات الدولة وتطوير البنية التحتية ورفع مستوى الخدمات التعليمية والصحية وبما يمهد لجعل الكويت مركزا ماليا وتجاريا في المنطقة.

واستمرارا لنهج دولة الكويت في تقديم المساعدات للدول النامية يواصل الصندوق الكويتي للتنمية الاقتصادية جهوده في دعم وتمويل المشاريع الإنمائية ومشاريع البنية التحتية في اكثر من 100 دولة وبقيمة إجمالية قاربت الخمسة عشر مليار دولار ليبلغ متوسط ما قدمته ضعف النسبة المقررة دوليا من الدخل القومي للدول ، وتجدد دولة الكويت التزامها بمواصلة تقديم المساعدات الإنمائية والمالية للدول المحتاجة بما يحقق الاستقرار والتقدم لهذه الدول والنهوض بإمكانياتها وقدراتها لتلبية احتياجاتها التنموية .

السادة الرؤساء ،

ندرك جسامة المسؤولية الدولية والصعوبات والتحديات التي تعترض سبيل كثير من الدول للوصول لغايات وأهداف الألفية الإنمائية ولكننا على ثقة بأن الأهداف قابلة للتحقيق اذا ما توفرت الإرادة السياسية والإيمان الكامل بأهمية العمل المشترك والجماعي والالتزام بما نتخذه من قرارات وتعهدات فلنعمل جميعا على ما فيه خير وكرامة ورفاهية شعوبنا مسترشدين بمقاصد ومبادئ ميثاق الأمم المتحدة والاحترام الكامل للقانون الدولي.

وشكرا السادة الرؤساء ،،،

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته .

 
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة