Speeches
  Speech of His Highness the Prime Minister at the lunch banquet held by His Highness in honour of Her Excellency Mrs. Micheline Calmy-Rey, Vice President of the Swiss Federal Council and Minister of Foreign Affairs  
  7 November 2010  
     
 

Her Excellency Mrs. Micheline Calmy-Rey
Vice President of the Swiss Federal Council and Minister of Foreign Affairs,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is with much pleasure that I welcome you and your accompanying delegation in Kuwait, a country similar in many aspects to the features that distinguish your country Switzerland, which proved as a small peaceful country, how to maintain neutrality in a troubled world, to serve peace and security, extending a helping hand to those in need around the world.

Kuwaiti-Swiss relations are solid and historical, and I wish to point here to the position taken by Switzerland during the brutal occupation of Kuwait by an evil dictator: the position was firmly in support of Kuwait, calling for the necessity to respect International law and end the aggression. Your government has reinforced the principle it has long believed in, that is, the love of peace and security for all nations. We shall never forget either, how Swiss schools opened their doors to the children of Kuwait during that difficult period.

We in Kuwait, cherish freedom and peace; we constantly emphasize the importance of dialogue and understanding in this day and age, as wars have become destructive and are no more limited to battlefronts, but have transcended much further to reach the depths of destruction without leaving a single foundation standing. Because we constitute a small population, we have often suffered from the injustice of wars, had we not found our solace in the support of the United Nations and other countries, the situation would have been far graver.

In Kuwait, we are resolved to achieving positive results in the field of developing our country politically and economically, in compliance with the will of His Highness the Amir of the State of Kuwait Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, which aims at transforming this country into a financial and commercial hub. In this framework, the State of Kuwait has endorsed a development plan for the years 2010-2014, and has allocated a budget of 140 billion dollars to develop the infrastructure, ports construction, railways, establishment of new cities and continuing efforts to improve the standard of basic services provided for citizens and expatriates. In this context, Kuwait is proud to be in the lead on the Arab and international levels in terms of the quality of education, lifestyle, gender equality, the economic situation and political freedom, this, according to classifications published by specialized international organizations and agencies and non- governmental organizations.

Your Excellency Vice President of the Swiss Federation and Head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs,

I still enjoy fond memories since arriving for the first time in your country from the United Kingdom on April 24th, 1959, where I completed my university studies in Geneva University, one of the most renowned universities in the world, in a country that is at the forefront of democracy and freedoms. I was the first diplomat in the history of the Kuwaiti-Swiss relations to be appointed Consul General for the State of Kuwait to the Swiss Federation, resident in Geneva, then as Permanent Representative of the State of Kuwait to the European office of the United Nations in Geneva in 1966. I would also like to mention with pride and respect, Mr. Paul Gottret, the late father of the present ambassador of the Swiss Federation to the State of Kuwait, H.E Mr. Michel Gottret, who was a dear friend of mine when he was chief of Protocol for the Canton of Geneva, as he immensely facilitated the tasks of the diplomatic corps.

A few years later, I followed with interest, as Mrs. Calmy-Rey was elected President of the Geneva Cantonal Government in 2001, then to be elected a year later to become the fourth woman in the Federal Council for the Department of Foreign Affairs, which is a ministerial post she still occupies to this day. As she is Vice President of the Swiss Confederation for the second time running, we look forward to seeing Mrs. Calmy-Rey hold the presidency next January for the second time as well.

Mrs. Micheline Calmy-Rey is a member of “Council of Women World Leaders”, which is an international network consisting of women who occupy present or former posts of president or prime minister, its mission is to globally enroll women of the highest leadership level for collective action towards issues of great importance to women and fair development. In September 2010, Mrs. Calmy-Rey was invited to join the Secretary General’s high-level Pannel, concerned with comprehensive and sustainable development.

We look forward to close cooperation with your country on all levels, especially in the political field, and since you head Swiss diplomacy, we are fully confident of your genuine efforts and your profound and noble objectives.

Once again, on behalf of the State of Kuwait, I wish to welcome you as a friend and a guest, in appreciation of your distinguished efforts in serving your country and humanity.

With sincere best wishes for success and progress.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء في مأدبة غداء على شرف فخامة نائب رئيس مجلس الاتحاد الفيدرالي السويسري ووزيرة الخارجية، السيدة ميشلين كالمي ري  
  7 نوفمبر 2010  
     
 

فخامة نائبة رئيس المجلس الاتحادي السويسري ووزيرة الخارجية، السيدة ميشلين كالمي- ري،

أيها السيدات والسادة،

إنه لمن دواعي سروري أن أرحب بكم وبالوفد المرافق لكم في الكويت، البلد الذي يتشابه في عدة نواح، مع بعض الصفات التي تميّز بلدكم سويسرا، والذي أظهر كيف يمكن لبلد صغير مسالم، أن يتمكن من تحقيق الحياد في عالم مضطرب، من أجل خدمة السلام والأمن، مادّاً يد العون للمحتاجين في مختلف أنحاء العالم.

إن العلاقات السويسرية الكويتية عميقة وتاريخية. ويسرني أن أشير هنا إلى موقف سويسرا المبدئي، حين رزحت الكويت تحت وطأة الاحتلال البغيض من قبل طاغية شيطاني، فجاء موقفها داعماً للكويت وداعياً إلى ضرورة احترام القانون الدولي وإنهاء العدوان. وقد عززت حكومتكم بذلك، المبدأ الذي لطالما آمنت به، ألا وهو حب السلام والأمن لجميع الأمم. كما أننا لن ننسى أبدأ كيف فتحت المدارس السويسرية أبوابها واسعة أمام أطفال الكويت في تلك المرحلة العصيبة.

نحن في الكويت نعشق الحرية والسلام، ونشدّد باستمرار على أهمية الحوار والتفاهم في هذا الزمان، حيث أصبحت الحروب مُهلِكةً لأنها لم تعد تقتصر على جبهات الحرب بل أصبحت تتعدّاها إلى أبعد من ذلك بكثير لتصل إلى الأعماق التي تدمّر كل شيء ولا تترك حجراً على حجر. ونظراً لكوننا نشكل مجموعة سكانية صغيرة، فلطالما عانينا من ظلم الحروب؛ ولولا دعم دول العالم والأمم المتحدة حيث وجدنا ملاذنا، لكان الوضع مختلفاً جداً.

إننا مصممون على تحقيق نتائج إيجابية في مجال تطوير بلدنا سياسياً واقتصادياً، منفذين بذلك إرادة حضرة صاحب السمو أمير دولة الكويت، الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح، التي تهدف إلى تحويل هذه الدولة إلى مركز مالي وتجاري. في هذا الصدد، وافقت دولة الكويت على خطة تنموية للسنوات 2010-2014، وخصصت لها ميزانية بقيمة 140 مليار دولار لتطوير البنية التحتية وبناء الموانئ والسكك الحديدية وإنشاء مدن جديدة ومواصلة الجهود الهادفة إلى تحسين مستوى الخدمات الأساسية المقدمة إلى المواطنين والمقيمين. وفي هذا السياق، فإن دولة الكويت تعتزّ بما حققته في مجال التعليم والرعاية الصحية والحريات السياسية وتحسين الوضع الاقتصادي والمساواة بين الجنسين.

فخامة نائبة رئيس المجلس الاتحادي السويسري ووزيرة الخارجية،

إنني أحتفظ بذكريات جميلة منذ أن وطأت قدماي بلدكم في 24 أبريل 1959، قادماً من المملكة المتحدة، حيث أكملت دراستي الجامعية في إحدى أعرق الجامعات في العالم، وهي جامعة جنيف الرائدة في بلد يشهد له العالم بالديمقراطية والحريات. وقد كنت أول دبلوماسي كويتي في تاريخ العلاقة السويسرية الكويتية عندما عُيّنت قنصلاً عاماً لدولة الكويت لدى الاتحاد السويسري ومقرّه جنيف، وكذلك مندوباً دائماً للمكتب الأوروبي للأمم المتحدة في جنيف في العام 1966. كما أودّ أن أشير بكل فخر واعتزاز إلى صديقي المرحوم بول غوتريه الذي كان يتولّى منصب رئيس البروتوكول في جمهورية وكانتون جنيف، حيث كان يقوم بتسهيل مهام السلك الدبلوماسي والقنصلي بشكل كبير. وهو كما ذكرت صديق عزيز، وهو والد سفير الاتحاد السويسري الحالي لدى دولة الكويت، سعادة السيد ميشال غوتريه.

وقد تابعت باهتمام، بعد سنوات عدّة، انتخاب فخامة السيدة كالمي- ري رئيساً لمجلس الدولة في جمهورية وكانتون جنيف في العام 2001، ثم انتخابها بعد سنة لتكون المرأة الرابعة في المجلس الفدرالي حيث شغلت منصب وزيرة الشؤون الخارجية، وهي حقيبة وزارية لا تزال تحتفظ بها حتى اليوم. وكونها نائب رئيس المجلس الاتحادي السويسري للمرة الثانية، فإننا نتطلّع إلى أن نرى السيدة كالمي- ري تتولّى الرئاسة الفيدرالية كذلك للمرة الثانية في يناير المقبل.

إن فخامة نائبة رئيس المجلس الاتحادي السويسري ووزيرة الخارجية، عضو في "مجلس النساء القائدات في العالم"، وهي شبكة دولية تتألف من النساء اللواتي يشغلن مناصب رؤساء ورؤساء وزراء، حاليين أو سابقين، والتي تتمثل مهمتها في تجنيد النساء على أعلى مستوى قيادي على الصعيد العالمي من أجل العمل الجماعي بشأن قضايا ذات أهمية كبرى بالنسبة للمرأة وبشأن التنمية العادلة. كما دُعيت فخامة السيدة كالمي- ري في سبتمبر 2010 للانضمام إلى الفريق الرفيع المستوى للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة والمعني بالتنمية المستدامة الشاملة.

إننا نتطلّع إلى تعاون وثيق مع بلدكم العريق على مختلف المستويات، لاسيّما في المجالين السياسي والاقتصادي، وبما أنكم أنتم من يقود الدبلوماسية السويسرية، فإننا على ثقة تامة بصدق جهودكم وعمق ونبل أهدافكم.

مرة أخرى، ونيابة عن دولة الكويت، أودّ أن أرحب بسعادتكم كصديقة وضيفة، تقديراً لجهودكم المتميزة في خدمة بلدكم وخدمة الإنسانية.


مع خالص التحيات وأطيب التمنيات بالنجاح والتقدم.
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة