Speeches
  The address of the representative of His Highness the Amir, His Highness the Prime Minister before the 66th session of the General Assembly at the United Nations  
  22 September 2011  
     
 

In the Holy name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful, and peace and blessings be upon His messenger Mohammad, his kin and his companions.

Mr. President,
Your Majesties, Your Highnesses,
Your Excellences,
Permanent Representatives and Ambassadors,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

AssalamuAlikumWaRahmatullahiWaBarakatuh

It gives me great pleasure on behalf of the government and the people of the State of Kuwait, to convey to you personally, our sincere felicitations on your unanimous re-election as president of the 66th session of the United Nations General Assembly, in acknowledgement and appreciation of the prominent position the State of Qatar holds, and the close ties and distinguished relations with my country Kuwait. I am confident that you will guide the work of this session to achieve the required success. We would also like to commend the efforts of your predecessor Mr. Joseph Deiss(of Switzerland) for his outstanding presidency and successful management of the previous session. We congratulate His Excellency Mr. Ban Ki-moon for his re-election as the Secretary General of the United Nations, and we wish him every success.

We were pleased by the accession of the State of South Sudan to the United Nations, the State that Kuwait recognized  from day one of its independence, and we are confident that its government and people, whoare proud of their links with us, will achieve security, stability and economic development for their country.

Mr. President,

The significance of our organization has without a doubt increased over time, as the international arena has witnessed over the past six decades numerous events and developments that had direct impact on international peace and security.The United Nations was able to act as the safe haven for member countries to find common and collective solutions, since it is the most multilaterally legal, credible and independent of international mechanisms to confront countless problems and crises, as there is a conviction that a State in spite of its capabilities, is unable unilaterally,to confront the threats of terrorism, the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, the aspect of climate change, epidemics, organized crime and other challenges,as geographic and national frontiers are no longer a barrier against  themspilling over, spreading and impacting. In fact, the role of the United Nations in the latter years has increased particularly in confronting human disasters; natural or man-made, perhaps the latest example is the famine that struck the African Horn due to drought and violence, whereby the United Nations mobilized humanitarian aide to distribute amongst the destitute which contributed to alleviating their suffering and saving the lives of millions.

The increased importance of the United Nations in our world today requires improving and enhancing its performance, which calls for procedures and measures to reform its major bodies such as the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and to develop its mechanisms to enable it to perform its tasks and responsibilities efficiently and effectively, thus, it falls on the shoulders of all member countries to support the organization and commit to implementing its resolutions and provide the necessary financial resources, unconditionally, and at the specified time. The final outcome is that the strength of the United Nations reflects in the extent of support members demonstratefor its noble objectives and the fulfillment of its needs.

Mr. President,

The current events and developments in the Middle East are of grave concern and warn of further deterioration in the security and stability of the region.The use of force and violence which claimed the lives of thousands of innocent victims must stop, and the legitimate demands of populations must be responded to along with the implementation of serious and speedy political, economic and social reforms, in this respect, the State of Kuwait supports all efforts that call for dialogue and understanding and renounce violence.

The State of Kuwait is keen to enhance and develop its relations with its neighbours on firm and solid ground built on mutual respect and joint interests, raising the standard of relations that nations of the region aspire to. In this context, the State of Kuwait appealsto the Islamic Republic of Iran to take serious and genuine measures to build trust by complying with United Nations resolutions and cooperating with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) to dispel the concerns and skepticism harboured towards its nuclear programme and positively cooperate to resolve the conflict over the occupied United Arab Emirates Islands in accordance with the principles and regulations of international law.

Mr. President,

The State of Kuwait this year celebrated the 50th anniversary of its independence and the 20th anniversary of its liberation from the Iraqi occupation of Saddam. This liberation was truly one of the most prominent successes of the United Nations in its pursuit to deter the aggression and eliminate its impact on the basis of the UN charter and resolutions. In November, Kuwait will also be celebrating 50 years since the introduction of its constitution whichcodified democracy in belief of the principles and objectives of international law and based its relations on the principles of the respect of sovereignty, independence and non-interference in the internal affairs of others and resolve all disputes by peaceful means.

The State of Kuwait is keen to overcome its painful memories through establishing close relations predominated by cooperation, mutual respect and good neighbourlyrelations with the Republic of Iraq, whom we hope it will establish stability and development, and further progress in its efforts to impose security and rebuild its economy that was destroyed by the former regime through its aggressive and expansionist policies. We hereby renew our commitment to offer all forms of support to help Iraq implement its remaining international obligations stipulated in pertinent Security Council resolutions, so that Iraq may regain its regional and international role.

Mr. President,

More than six decades have elapsedand the United Nation stands helpless in finding a solution to the Palestinian issue and ending the Israeli occupation of Arab territories, yet the Palestinian people’s suffering has exacerbated over the years, its economic and social situation worsened, the settlements are expanding, lands are confiscated, water is stolen, the people are living under siege, and are subject to arrests. What is most worrying is that the international community fails to take action in response to these Israeli practices and policies in spite of its blatant violation of the basic fundamentals of international legitimacy, undermining the chances for achieving peace. Perhaps Israel’s inhumane practices in imposing a siege against our brothers in Gaza is totally unjustified, and the deliberate destruction of the infrastructure despite continued international condemnation are clearexamples of Israel’s disregard of its responsibilities and international public opinion.

The international community is required to continue its efforts in exerting pressure on Israel, to empower the Palestinian people to attain their right for self-determination and establish an independent state on their territorywith east Jerusalem as its capital, and put an end to the Israeli occupation of all occupied Arab territories since June 1967, including the Syrian Golan, and halt its continued violations of the sovereignty of Lebanon withdrawing from all its occupied territories.Therefore, we renew our commitment and full support of the Palestinian Authority’s demands and efforts to obtain membership of the United Nations as an independent sovereign with and full membership.

Mr. President,

The State of Kuwait welcomes international reports issued by the United Nations and its agencies on the accomplishment of Millennium Development Goals endorsed by the global summit for the year 2005, we should all be proud of the accomplishments in reducing the number of those affected by the HIVvirus (AIDS) and providing medication for a large number of those infected with the disease and other infectious diseases like malaria and tuberculosis.

However, in spite of these achievements, there is still so much to do, as the accomplishments are inadequate and disproportionate between one country and the other, and there are many indications that confirm some countries are unable to attain the Millennium Development Goals by the year 2015 for various reasons the most obvious being; the economic and financial global crisis with its far reaching effects on most countries large and small, wealthy and poor, although developing countries and the least developed countries suffered the most because of their weak and fragile economies as their economic growth slowed down , exports dropped and the rate of unemployment grew, while the prices of food stuff and basic commodities rocketed exacerbating the impact of the crisis economically and socially. No sooner had the world began to recover from this crisis than the prospect of another crisis loomed threatening global economic growth once again, represented this time in the sovereign debts of the United States and a number of European countries.

The international community is called upon to proceed in restructuring international financial institutions, guarantee their conformity with the international reality and improve their abilities to perform their tasks effectively and efficiently, rendering them more representative and just towards countries in need of their support.

The world today is in dire need of a just and fair global commercial system to bridge the enormous gap between countries, achieve mutual benefits and assist in integrating the economy of poor countries with the global economic system. Developed countries must fulfill their commitments and increase their official development assistance to the 0.7 % set internationally.

In this context, the State of Kuwait spared no effort in providing urgent humanitarian assistance to countries struck by natural disasters, and responding to appealsfrom the United Nations and its agencies to alleviate the suffering of the peoples of these countries. Through its conviction of the importance of the role undertaken by the United Nations in the humanitarian field, the State of Kuwait has increased its voluntary contributions to a number of specialized international organizations and agencies such as the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR), the United Nations Central Emergency Response Fund (CERF) and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC).

Although Kuwait is a developing country, yet since its independence in 1961, it drew its self a fixed policy and approach to support developing and least developed countries by extending a helping hand and offering humanitarian and developmental assistance. More than 100 countries from different parts of the world have benefited from over 15 billion dollars in assistance.

The Amir of the State of Kuwait has launched a number of initiatives, these are: the Respectable Life Initiative, Supporting and Promoting Small and Medium Projects Initiative and Eastern Sudan Development Initiative to alleviate the suffering of many countries effected by the increase in food stuff prices and energy, and those whose economies were effected by the global financial crisis which lead to a rise in unemployment and an increase in poverty. A number of countries have actually benefited from these initiatives.

Mr. President,

The United Nations was able through the numerous conferences it organized, the international agreements and conventions it ratified and the resolutions and statements it endorsed, to unify our vision, steer our endeavours ,  mobilize our capabilities and potentials to bolster joint action and combat corruption, enhance the rule of law and wise governance, respect human rights, boost the role of women and empower them in society,and we look forward to a more effective international role  in the frame work of the Alliance of Civilizations Initiative (UNAOC) to intensify dialogue between different civilizations, religions and cultures, so as to spread the values of tolerance, moderation, mutual respect and renounce violence and extremism which undermine and reduce our opportunities for joint cooperation to spread the culture of peace, and achieve the principles and noble objectives stipulated in the charter of our organization.

 

                  Thank you Mr. President

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة ممثل حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد المفدى حفظه الله ورعاه سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء أمام الدورة السادسة والستون للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة  
  22 سبتمبر 2011  
     
 

 بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم ، والصلاة والسلام على سيد المرسلين محمد واله واصحبه اجمعين ،

السيد الرئيس ، 
أصحاب الجلالة والسمو،
أصحاب الفخامة ،
أصحاب المعالي ،
سعادة المندوبين الدائمين  والسفراء
السيدات والسادة ،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،،،  
يسرني باسم حكومة وشعب دولة الكويت أن أتقدم إليكم شخصيا بأخلص التهاني لانتخابكم بالإجماع رئيسا للدورة السادسة والستين للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة والذي يمثل اعترافا وتقديرا للمكانة البارزة لدولة قطر الشقيقة والتي تربطها ببلدي الكويت روابط وثيقة وعلاقات متميزة .
وأني على ثقة بأنكم ستديرون أعمال هذه الدورة بما يحقق لها النجاح المنشود .

كما نود أن نشيد بجهود سلفكم السيد جوزيف دايس ( سويسرا ) على رئاسته المتميزة وإدارته الناجحة لأعمال الدورة الماضية .
كما نهنئ  سعادة / بان كي مون على إعادة انتخابه أمينا عاما للأمم المتحدة ونتمنى له دوام التوفيق . 
            
لقد أسعدنا انضمام دولة جنوب السودان إلي الأمم المتحدة ، هذه الدولة التي اعترفت بها الكويت في أول يوم من استقلالها ، وإننا واثقون أن حكومتها وشعبها الشقيق الذي يعتز بروابطنا معه ، سيحققون الأمن والاستقرار والتنمية الاقتصادية لبلدهم .

السيد الرئيس ،،،
            
إن أهمية منظمتنا هذه أصبحت ، وبدون شك  تزداد مع مرور الوقت ، فالساحة الدولية شهدت خلال العقود الستة الماضية الكثير من الأحداث والتطورات التي كان لها تأثير مباشر على السلم والأمن الدوليين ، واستطاعت الأمم المتحدة باعتبارها أكثر الآليات الدولية متعددة الأطراف شرعية ومصداقية واستقلالية أن تكون الملاذ الآمن للدول الأعضاء للبحث عن حلول جماعية وموحدة لمواجهة عدد من المشاكل والأزمات ، فهناك قناعة بأن دولة بمفردها مهما كانت إمكاناتها وقدرتها  لا تستطيع التصدي لمخاطر كالإرهاب وانتشار أسلحة الدمار الشامل وظاهرة التغير المناخي والأوبئة والجريمة المنظمة وغيرها من التحديات التي لم تعد الحدود الجغرافية والوطنية حاجزا لانتقالها وانتشارها وتأثيرها ، بل أنه في السنوات الأخيرة تعاظم دور الأمم المتحدة خصوصا  في مواجهة ما نشهده من كوارث إنسانية ، سواء كانت من صنع الإنسان أو الطبيعة ، ولعل آخر مثل علي ذلك ما تعرضت له مؤخرا منطقة القرن الأفريقي من مجاعة بسبب الجفاف وأعمال العنف وتصدي الأمم المتحدة وحشدها للمساعدات الإنسانية وتقديمها للمحتاجين ساهم في تخفيف المعاناة وإنقاذ أرواح الملايين .
            
إن هذه الأهمية المتعاظمة للأمم المتحدة في عالمنا اليوم تستوجب تحسين قدرة المنظمة وتعزيزها والارتقاء بأدائها الأمر الذي يستلزم اتخاذ إجراءات وتدابير لإصلاح أجهزتها  الرئيسية كالجمعية العامة ومجلس الأمن والمجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي ، وتطوير آلياتها لتمكينها من أداء مهامها ومسؤولياتها بكفاءة وفعالية ، وبالتالي  تقع على عاتق جميع الدول الأعضاء مسؤولية دعم ومساندة المنظمة والالتزام بتنفيذ قراراتها وتوفير الموارد المالية اللازمة لها في الوقت المحدد ودون أية شروط ، ففي المحصلة النهائية إن قوة الأمم المتحدة انعكاس لمدي دعم أعضائها لأهدافها السامية ، وتلبية احتياجاتها .

السيد الرئيس  ،،،،

إن ما تشهده منطقة الشرق الأوسط حاليا من تطورات وأحداث هو مبعث للقلق الشديد وينذر بمزيد من التدهور لأمن المنطقة واستقرارها فاستخدام القوة وأعمال العنف التي راح ضحيتها الآلاف لابد أن تتوقف حقنا للدماء، ولابد أن تتم الاستجابة للمطالب المشروعة للشعوب وتنفيذ إصلاحات سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية جادة وسريعة ، وتدعم دولة الكويت في هذا الصدد  جميع الجهود الداعية إلى الحوار والتفاهم ونبذ العنف .
            
وتحرص دولة الكويت على تعزيز وتطوير علاقاتها مع جيرانها على أسس ثابتة ومتينة تقوم على الاحترام المتبادل والمصالح المشتركة ، والارتقاء بالعلاقات إلى المستوى الذي تطمح له شعوب المنطقة ، وفي هذا السياق ، تدعو دولة الكويت جمهورية إيران الإسلامية إلى اتخاذ تدابير جادة وحقيقية لبناء الثقة تتمثل بالالتزام بقرارات  الشرعية الدولية والتعاون مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية لتبديد المخاوف والشكوك حيال برامجها النووية والتعاون الإيجابي لحل النزاع حول الجزر الإماراتية المحتلة وفقا لمبادئ وقواعد القانون الدولي .

السيد الرئيس ،،،
            
احتفلت دولة الكويت هذا العام بالذكرى الخمسين لاستقلالها والذكرى العشرين لتحريرها من الاحتلال العراقي الصدامي ، هذا التحرير الذي أعتبر بحق واحدا من أبرز نـجاحات الأمم المتحدة في سعيها لردع العدوان ، وإزالة آثاره استنادا إلي مبادئ الميثاق وقرارات الشرعية الدولية . 
كما ستحتفل الكويت في شهر نوفمبر القادم بمرور خمسين عاما علي صدور دستورها ، والذي قنن الديمقراطية ، التي جبلت عليها الكويت منذ تأسيسها ، وهو  يعتبر أحد ابرز انـجازات الكويت نظاما وشعبا ، ، وهذه  كلها  مناسبات تاريخية لدولة صغيرة محبة للسلام ، مؤمنة بمبادئ وأهداف الميثاق والقانون الدولي ، مستندة في علاقاتها على مبادئ احترام السيادة  والاستقلال وعدم التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية للغير ، وحل كافة الخلافات بالطرق والوسائل السلمية .
            
وتحرص دولة الكويت على تجاوز ذكرياتها  الأليمة من خلال إقامة علاقات وثيقة يسودها التعاون والاحترام المتبادل وحسن الجوار مع جمهورية العراق الشقيق ، الذي نأمل أن يعمه الاستقرار والتنمية ، ويحقق مزيدا من التقدم في مساعيه وجهوده لفرض الأمن وإعادة بناء اقتصاده الذي دمره النظام السابق بسياساته العدوانية والتوسعية ، ونـجدد هنا التزامنا بتقديم كافة أشكال الدعم لمساعدة العراق على تنفيذ الالتزامات الدولية المتبقية عليه التي نصت عليها قرارات مجلس الأمن ذات الصلة ، وبما يمكن العراق من استعادة دوره في محيطه الإقليمي والدولي .

السيد الرئيس ،،،
            
لقد مضت أكثر من ستة عقود والأمم المتحدة تقف عاجزة عن إيجاد حل للقضية الفلسطينية وإنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي للأراضي العربية ، بل إن معاناة الشعب الفلسطيني تتفاقم مع مرور السنين ، فأوضاعه الاقتصادية والاجتماعية تزداد سوءا ، فالمستوطنات تتوسع ، والأراضي تصادر ، والمياه تسرق ، ومناطقه تحاصر وتنقلات شعبه  تقيد وأبناؤه يعتقلون ، وما يبعث على القلق أن المجتمع الدولي يقف متفرجا على هذه الممارسات والسياسات الإسرائيلية دون أن يتصدى لها أو يردعها رغم مخالفتها وانتهاكها الصريح لأبسط قواعد القانون الدولي وقرارات الشرعية الدولية ، وتقويضها لفرص تحقيق السلام ، ولعل الممارسات غير الإنسانية التى تمارسها إسرائيل ضد الأخوة في غزة من حصار غير مبرر على الإطلاق ، وتدمير متعمد للبنية التحتية رغم الاستنكار الدولي المستمر ضده ، هذه الأعمال لهي أوضح الأمثلة علي عدم اكتراثها بمسئولياتها وبالرأي العام العالمي .
إن المجتمع الدولي مطالب بمواصلة مساعيه وجهوده والضغط على إسرائيل لتمكين الشعب الفلسطيني من حصوله على حقه في تقرير مصيره وإقامة دولته المستقلة على أرضه ، وعاصمتها القدس الشرقية ، وإنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي من كافة الأراضي العربية المحتلة في الرابع من يونيو 1967 بما في ذلك الجولان السوري ووقف انتهاكاتها المستمرة لسيادة لبنان والانسحاب من كافة أراضيه المحتلة .
            
ونـجدد هنا التزامنا ودعمنا الكامل لمطالب السلطة الفلسطينية ومساعيها للحصول على عضوية الأمم المتحدة كدولة مستقلة ذات سيادة كاملة العضوية.
 
السيد الرئيس ,,,
            
ترحب دولة الكويت بالتقارير الدولية الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة ووكالاتها حول ما تحقق من الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية التي اعتمدتها القمة العالمية سنة 2005 ، ويحق لنا جميعا أن نفخر بالانـجازات التي تحققت في مجال انخفاض عدد المصابين بمرض نقص المناعة المكتسبة ( الإيدز ) وتوفر الدواء لأعداد أكبر من المصابين بهذا المرض والأمراض المعدية الأخرى كالملاريا والسل .
             
ولكن ورغم هذه الانـجازات مازال هناك الكثير الذي يجب علينا جميعا عمله فالإنـجازات غير متوازنة ومتفاوتة بين دولة وأخرى ، وهناك الكثير من المؤشرات التي تؤكد عدم قدرة بعض الدول على الوصول إلى أهداف الألفية الإنمائية بحلول عام 2015 لأسباب عديدة لعل أبرزها الأزمة الاقتصادية والمالية العالمية التي طالت آثارها وانعكاساتها السلبية أغلب الدول كبيرها وصغيرها ، غنيها و فقيرها ، ولكن الدول النامية والدول الأقل نموا وبسبب ضعف وهشاشة اقتصادياتها عانت الكثير ، فقد تباطأ نموها الاقتصادي وانخفض حجم صادراتها وارتفعت معدلات البطالة فيها ، وفي المقابل ارتفعت أسعار المواد الغذائية والمواد الأساسية مما فاقم من آثار الأزمة اقتصاديا واجتماعيا ، وما كاد العالم يتعافى من هذه الأزمة حتى ظهرت بوادر أزمة أخرى تهدد النمو الاقتصادي العالمي من جديد ، وتتمثل في مشكلة الديون السيادية للولايات المتحدة وعدد من الدول الأوروبية .
            
إن المجتمع الدولي مطالب بالمضي قدما في إعادة هيكلة المؤسسات المالية الدولية لضمان مواءمتها مع الواقع الدولي وتحسين قدرتها على أداء مهامها بكفاءة وفعالية وجعلها أكثر تمثيلا وإنصافا للدول المحتاجة لدعمها .
            
إن العالم اليوم بحاجة ماسة لنظام تجاري عالمي عادل ومتوازن ومنصف  يردم الفجوة الهائلة بين الدول ويحقق المنفعة المتبادلة ويساعد على دمج اقتصاد الدول الفقيرة بالنظام الاقتصادي العالمي ، كما أن الدول المتقدمة لابد أن تفي بالتزاماتها وتزيد من مساعداتها التنموية الرسمية وصولا إلى النسبة المقررة دوليا وهي 0.7 بالمائة .
            
وفي هذا السياق ، فإن دولة الكويت لم تأل جهدا في تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية الطارئة للدول المنكوبة من الكوارث الطبيعية والاستجابة لنداءات الأمم المتحدة ووكالاتها للتخفيف من معاناة شعوب هذه الدول ، وإيمانا منها بأهمية دور الأمم المتحدة في مجال العمل الإنساني زادت دولة الكويت من مساهماتها الطوعية لعدد من المنظمات والوكالات الدولية المتخصصة كالمفوضية العليا لشؤون اللاجئين وصندوق الأمم المتحدة المركزي للطوارئ واللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر.
            
ورغم أن الكويت دولة نامية إلا أنه ومنذ استقلالها عام 1961 خطت لنفسها نهجا وسياسة ثابتة بالوقوف إلى جانب الدول النامية والدول الأقل نموا من خلال تقديم يد العون والمساعدة الإنسانية والتنموية لها ، حيث استفادت  أكثر من 100 دولة من مختلف مناطق العالم من مساعدات تجاوزت قيمتها 15 مليار دولار .

ولقد أطلق أمير دولة الكويت , مبادرات عدة هي :- مبادرة الحياة الكريمة , ومبادرة دعم وتشجيع المشروعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة , ومبادرة أعمار شرق السودان وذلك للتخفيف من معاناة العديد من الدول التي تأثرت بارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية والطاقة وتلك التي تأثرت اقتصادياتها بالأزمة المالية العالمية وارتفعت فيها معدلات البطالة ومستوى الفقر , ولقد استفادت فعليا العديد من الدول من تلك المبادرات .

السيد الرئيس ،،،
            
تمكنت الأمم المتحدة ومن خلال المؤتمرات العديدة التي قامت بتنظيمها والاتفاقيات والمعاهدات الدولية التي أبرمتها والقرارات والبيانات التي اعتمدتها من توحيد رؤانا وتوجيه مساعينا وحشد طاقاتنا وإمكانياتنا لتعزيز العمل المشترك لمكافحة الفساد ، وتعزيز سيادة القانون والحكم الرشيد ، واحترام حقوق الإنسان ، وتعزيز دور المرأة وتمكينها في المجتمع ، ونتطلع إلى دور دولي أكثر فاعلية  في إطار مبادرة تحالف الحضارات لتكثيف الحوار بين مختلف الحضارات والأديان والثقافات لنشر قيم التسامح والاعتدال والاحترام المتبادل ونبذ مظاهر العنف والتطرف التي تقوض وتقلل من فرصنا للتعاون معا لنشر ثقافة السلام وتحقيق المبادئ والأهداف السامية التي نص عليها ميثاق منظمتنا .

وشكرا السيد الرئيس ،،،،

 
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة