Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al -Mohammed Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah during a ceremony held at the French Embassy on the occasion of the International Day of the Francophonie  
  20 March 2012  
     
 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is a great pleasure to me to share with you today the celebrations of the International Day of the Francophonie. I would like to thank the ambassadors of Senegal, Canada, France and Switzerland for organizing this lovely evening, distinguished by the presence of good friends.
There is no doubt that the relations between Kuwait and France are historical, especially after signing several agreements that reflect the growth of those bilateral relations in all areas. This unique relationship between our two countries was recently crowned by agreements in the field of international and environmental cooperation. There is also a political agreement on key regional and Arab issues between Kuwait and Paris, and an economic exchange represented by the volume of bilateral trade, as well as cooperation in the military and health areas, and a cultural exchange represented by the number of Kuwaiti students in the French learning centers.
Relations between Kuwait and France are historical and distinguished. We always remember, with gratitude and appreciation, the courageous position of France during the Iraqi occupation of our beloved land; a brave position of principle. As a people who love freedom and peace, and stress on the importance of dialogue and understanding, especially after having suffered from the injustice and oppression of wars, we praise the role of France as a leading country in the world and within the European entity it helped to create.
I cannot forget to mention the strength of the personal relationships that linked the leaders of our two countries, such as the friendship that developed between President de Gaulle and the late Amir Sheikh Abdullah Al-Salem, and the friendship between the President Pompidou with the late Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Salem. I still remember the visit of President Giscard d'Estaing to the State of Kuwait and the meeting of President Mitterrand with the late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad , as well as the visit of President Nicolas Sarkozy to Kuwait on 11 February 2009.

On a personal level, I was very proud when President Nicolas Sarkozy awarded me the National Order of Merit. I was also very happy when the RFI radio was launched from Kuwait at the same moment when the plane of His Highness the Emir landed on the runway of the airport for his official visit to France on 29 November 2006. At the family level, and given that I’m passionate about the Francophonie and I finished my university studies in Switzerland, I was happy when one of my sons graduated from Strasbourg and then got his Ph.D. from the University of Sorbonne.

Perhaps the celebration of the International Day of Francophonie is a good opportunity to create a joint cooperation based on mutual respect, common goals and balanced interests. This is also an opportunity to develop cultural and linguistic diversity, which could contribute to the convergence of civilizations without subordination, and could lead us to explore what is new without prejudice to the identity.

Hence, the State of Kuwait supports the Arab World Institute in Paris and its activities of promoting cultural exchange and cooperation between France and the Arab world through exhibitions and intellectual, literary and cultural seminars. This support has started under the instructions of our late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad, and continues with support and instructions of His Highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad, reflecting the role of Kuwait which was and will always be an intellectual source, as well as a country that holds to the values of cultural pluralism and respects the human rights.

Looking forward to further strengthening the cooperation between our two countries, I extend my sincere wishes for success and prosperity to all of you.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الجابر الصباح خلال احتفالية السفارة الفرنسية باليوم العالمي للفرانكفونية  
  20 مارس 2012  
     
 

السيدات والسادة الحضور

إنه لمن دواعي سروري أن أتواجد معكم اليوم للاحتفال باليوم العالمي للفرانكفونية، مع جزيل الشكر والتقدير لسفراء السنغال وكندا وسويسرا وفرنسا الذين ساهموا في تنظيم هذه الأمسية الجميلة التي تزدان بوجود جمع من الوجوه الطيبة والصديقة.

ومما لا شك فيه أن جذور العلاقات بين الكويت وفرنسا متشعبة وقديمة لاسيما بعد توقيع عدة اتفاقيات تجسد عمق العلاقات المتنامية في جميع المجالات بين البلدين. تلك العلاقة المتميزة بين بلدينا توجت مؤخراً بإتفاقيات في مجال التعاون الدولي والبيئي. كما أن هناك تفاهم سياسي على قضايا اقليمية وعربية هامة بين الكويت وباريس، وتبادل اقتصادي يتمثل في حجم التجارة البينية. بالإضافة إلى تعاون عسكري في المجالات العسكرية، وتعاون في المجالات الصحية، وتبادل ثقافي يتمثل في تواجد العديد من الطلبة الكويتيين في مراكز التعليم الفرنسية.

كما أن العلاقات التي تجمع الكويت وفرنسا هي علاقات تاريخية ومتميزة، ونحن في الكويت لانزال نستذكر بكل الود والعرفان موقف فرنسا الشجاع خلال الاحتلال العراقي الغاشم على أرضنا، والذي كان موقفاً مبدئيا شجاعا. ونحن اذ نعشق الحرية والسلام وننادي بأهمية الحوار والتفاهم بعد ما تعرض له شعبنا الصغير من ظلم الحروب، نستذكر دور فرنسا كونها دولة محورية في العالم وفي الفضاء الأوروبي الذي سعت إلى تكوينه.

ولا يفوتني الإشارة إلى متانة العلاقة الشخصية التي جمعت بين المسؤولين في كلا البلدين، بدءاً من علاقة الصداقة التي نشأت بين الرئيس ديغول والأمير الراحل الشيخ عبدالله السالم، مرورا بصداقة الرئيس بومبيدو مع الأمير الراحل الشيخ صباح السالم، ولا تزال حاضرة في مخيلتي مشاهد زيارة الرئيس جيسكار دستان إلى الكويت، ولقاء الرئيس ميتران بالأمير الراحل الشيخ جابر الأحمد، وزيارة الرئيس نيكولاي ساركوزي إلى الكويت بتاريخ 11/2/2009.

أما على المستوى الشخصي، فقد كنت فخوراً جداً حينما قلدني فخامة الرئيس نيكولا ساركوزي وسام الاستحقاق الوطني الأكبر. كما لا أخفي عنكم سعادتي حين انطلقت اذاعة آر أف آي من أثير الكويت في نفس اليوم الذي حطت به طائرة سمو الأمير المفدى الأراضي الفرنسية في زيارته الرسمية بتاريخ 29 نوفمبر 2006. وعلى الصعيد العائلي ولكوني فرانكفوني الهوى وأتممت دراستي الجامعية في سويسرا، فلقد كنت مسرورا لتخرج أحد أبنائي من ستارسبورغ وحصوله على شهادة الدكتوراة لاحقاً من جامعة السوربون.

ولعل الاحتفال باليوم العالمي للفرانكفونية يمثل فرصة سانحة لخلق تعاون مشترك على أساس الاحترام المتبادل والأهداف المشتركة والمصالح المتوازنة، كما أنها مناسبة لتنمية التنوع الثقافي واللغوي مما يساهم في تلاقي الحضارات بلا تبعية، ويؤدي بنا إلى استكشاف الجديد دون الاخلال بالهوية.

وعليه، فإن الكويت من الداعمين لمعهد العالم العربي في باريس ولنشاطاته في تشجيع التبادل الثقافي والتعاون بين فرنسا والعالم العربي عبر إقامة المعارض والندوات الفكرية والأدبية والثقافية والعروض المسرحية. وقد كان هذا الدعم بتعليمات سامية من أميرنا الراحل الشيخ جابر الأحمد، ولا يزال مستمرا بدعم وتوجيهات سمو الأمير المفدى الشيخ صباح الأحمد. وهذا يأتي متسقاً مع دور الكويت التي كانت ولا تزال منبع اشعاع فكري، وموطنا متمسكا بقيم التعددية الثقافية واحترام حقوق الانسان.

وإنني اذ اتطلع لمزيد من التعاون بين دولنا ، لأتمنى لكم كل التوفيق والسداد،

مع خالص أمنياتي القلبية لكم.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة