Speeches
  Speech of H.H Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah at the lunch banquet held in honor of the presidents of abroad diplomatic missions on the occasion of the seventh conference  
  12 March 2013  
     
 

In the Name of Allah the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful,
All praises and thanks be to Allah, the Lord of the Universe,
Peace be upon our beloved prophet Muhammad and his fellow companions

His Excellency Ali Fahad Al-Rashed, President of the National Assembly,
Their Excellencies the Sheikhs,
His Excellency Sheikh Sabah Al-Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah, Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs,
His Excellency Mr. Faisal Akef Al-Fayez
Our brothers the Ministers,
Their Excellencies the Advisors in the Amiri Diwan, in Crown Prince Diwan and in the Prime Minister’s Diwan,
My brothers and Sisters the Ambassadors and the Heads of the Diplomatic Missions,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is my pleasure to meet you on the occasion of your seventh conference... what a beautiful occasion to see these kind faces that are, despite the distances, always close to our hearts and minds. Welcome soldiers of Kuwait, the employees of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, welcome graduates of the diplomatic university of Sabah Al-Ahmad
Luckily, our meeting today coincides with the celebrations of the national holidays. The truth is that I stand before you today, recalling the story of Kuwait since the independence... a tape of beautiful memories of Kuwait after the independence, for which His Highness late Sheikh Abdullah Al-Salem, May Allah forgive him, laid the foundations with honest men who kept the promises they made to Allah... Abdullatif Al-Thunayan... Abdulaziz Al-Sager... Abbas Menawer... Yusuf Al-Moukhled... Muhammad Maarefi... Mansour Al-Mazidi ... And others ... Men who set up for us a constitution based on the concepts of freedom and democracy... a constitution that established the principles of justice and equality...
Then the late Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Salem, May Allah forgive him, came with his good-heart and honesty to continue the journey... followed by the late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad, May Allah forgive him, who laid the foundation of modern Kuwait with the help of the late Amir Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah- May the mercy of Allah be upon all of them. And now, it is our Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad who is completing the journey.
In our meeting today, I see kindhearted faces who tell this story... the story of Kuwait... faces whose features bear the endurance of expatriation... the nostalgia of a homeland... and long memories of diplomatic epics and victories.
Every time I meet a diplomatic Kuwaiti, I recall my years of diplomatic work after I graduated from Geneva University in 1964... and I remember the late Majran Al-Hamad who signed the resolution of my appointment... and then later on, after exactly 30 years, he himself signed the resolution of the appointment of my son Sabah as a third secretary.
At the beginning of my appointment I worked as a third secretary in our mission in New York. The head of our mission was our dear brother Abdulaziz Al-Rashed... what a great brother and president he was... then I worked as a delegate in Geneva and a Consul general in Switzerland, and later on as an Ambassador Extra-Ordinary and Plenipotentiary to Iran and Afghanistan... Then I was honored to become the Dean of the Diplomatic Corps... those memories make me share with you in detail all your worries, your endurance and the sacrifices you offer to your beloved Kuwait.
When we recall the Kuwaiti diplomatic journey, we can’t skip some historic shots like the one picturing His Highness the Amir raising the flag of Kuwait in the United Nations in May 1963... Who can forget the historic scene when the Assembly of the United Nations stood in appreciation and respect for His Highness the Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad- May Allah rest his soul in peace- in September 1990.. when he pronounced his famous speech during the occupation...
We recall as well the role of the foreign ministers, of the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Salem- May Allah rest his soul in peace- then His highness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad, followed by our brother Sheikh Salem Al-Sabah- May Allah rest his soul in peace- and our brother Sheikh Dr. Mohammad Al-Sabah and now, our brother Sheikh Sabah Al-Khaled...
We also remember, with a lot of love and respect, our brothers the under-secretaries who followed one another in the foreign ministry... our brother Jassem Al-Qattani- May Allah rest his soul in peace... our big brother Abdulrahman Al-Atigi, our brothers Rashed Al-Rashed and Suleiman Al-Shahine and now our dear brother Khaled Al-Jarallah...
Of course we don’t forget the men who worked in silence in the Kuwaiti Diplomatic Corps, the ambassadors, diplomats and executives who were true loyal soldiers to their country... this is the nature of life... the message is transmitted from hand to hand, but the flag of Kuwait always remains high... you are now the holders of the flag and we know that you are certainly up to the responsibility... I assure you in my turn that your homeland Kuwait, with all its individuals and its institutions, put you in a high prestigious position, and you are certainly valued and appreciated by our father and the Dean of the foreign ministers all over the world, His Highness the Amir who is fully aware of the significant and outstanding role you are playing in serving Kuwait.
My testimony won’t give his highness what he deserves, but I always recall the great success of His Highness and of the Kuwaiti Diplomatic Corps during the occupation, which was crowned in the largest international support united to liberate Kuwait, and which was credited- with the help of God- to a professional engineer... and a competent captain... who set up a comprehensive school in diplomatic work and ran it with his brothers, His Highness the late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad, and His Highness the Father Amir Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah.

Ladies and gentlemen,
I would like to emphasize our big confidence in the support provided to you by my brother and my journey mate, His Highness the Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak. I cannot miss either to highlight the big effort that His Excellency Sabah Al-Khalid, Minister of Foreign Affairs and the staff of his ministry are providing in order to overcome all the difficulties that confront you.
I don’t want to keep you waiting for a long time on this social occasion ... I’ve just wanted to welcome you and thank you, and I’d like to advise you to always work in a way that reflects the civilized side of our beloved country... the moderation of Kuwait... the fairness of Kuwait... the transparency of Kuwait ... the values of Kuwait​​...and the rush of the people of Kuwait to do good deeds, to defend the oppressed and to rescue people in need... Rest assured that Kuwait is fine and is in good hands ... Rest assured that no matter how divergent the opinions are, Kuwait will remain one strong united family... and Kuwaitis will remain loving brothers...
Remember my brothers that what unites us is much stronger than what separates us... and Kuwaitis have always been united even when they disagreed... and had different opinions... they always cared for each other... it’s enough to remind you how Kuwaitis rushed to take care of each other during the invasion... everyone of them prioritized his neighbour over himself and children... that’s why I assure you that Kuwaitis were... are... and will always be... one family... one united family... one harmonious family... one merciful family... and one supportive family for better and worse.
Once again, welcome to your country and among your people... we are very pleased to see you...

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الجابر الصباح في مأدبة غداء رؤساء البعثات الدبلوماسية في الخارج في مؤتمرهم السابع  
  12 مارس 2013  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

الحمد لله رب العالمين والصلاة والسلام على أشرف المرسلين
سيدنا محمد وعلى آله وصحبه أجمعين.

معالي الأخ الكريم علي فهد الراشد رئيس مجلس الأمة،
معالي الشيوخ،
معالي الأخ الكريم الشيخ صباح خالد الحمد الصباح نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء ووزير الخارجية،
دولة السيد فيصل عاكف الفايز،
معالي الإخوة الوزراء، والإخوة المستشارون في الديوان الأميري، وديوان سمو ولي العهد، وديوان سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء
معالي الإخوة المحافظون.
إخواني وزملائي السفراء، ورؤساء البعثات الدبلوماسية .
الحفل الكريم

يسعدني أن ألتقي فيكم بمناسبة انعقاد مؤتمركم السابع، ويالها من مناسبة جميلة إني أشوف هالوجوه الطيبة اللي وإن كانت متغربة عنا جسدا لكنها دائما قريبة من قلوبنا وفكرنا، فيا أهلا وسهلا بجنود الكويت من منتسبي وزارة الخارجية، ويا أهلا وسهلا بخريجي جامعة صباح الأحمد الدبلوماسية.

ومن حسن الطالع أن لقاءنا اليوم يتزامن مع الاحتفال بذكرى الأعياد الوطنية، والحقيقة إني أقف أمامكم اليوم وأنا استرجع قصة الكويت منذ الاستقلال.. شريط من الذكريات الجميلة لكويت ما بعد الاستقلال اللي أرسى دعائمها المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ عبدالله السالم... ومعه رجال صدقوا ما عاهدوا الله عليه... عبداللطيف الثنيان... عبدالعزيز الصقر... عباس مناور... يوسف المخلد... محمد معرفي...منصور المزيدي... وغيرهم... رجال وضعوا لنا دستور يرتكز على مفاهيم الحرية والديمقراطية... دستور يؤسس لمبادئ العدالة والمساواة.... وأتى بعده المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ صباح السالم بكل ما يحمله من طيبة ونقاوة فأكمل المسيرة... ومن ثم حمل الراية المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ جابر الأحمد اللي وضع أساس الكويت الحديثة مع عضده المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ سعد العبدالله رحمهم الله جميعاً، والآن يكمل المسيرة أميرنا الشيخ صباح الأحمد، حفظه الله ورعاه.

واليوم في لقائنا هذا... أشوف وجوه كريمة تحكي هذه القصة... قصة الكويت... وجوه...تحمل في ملامحها معاناة غربة.. وحنين وطن.. وذكريات طويلة من الملاحم والانتصارات الدبلوماسية.

وأنا كل ما التقي بدبلوماسي كويتي تعود فيني الذاكرة للسنوات اللي تدرجت فيها بالعمل الدبلوماسي بعد تخرجي من جامعة جنيف عام 1964... وأذكر إن الأخ المرحوم مجرن الحمد وقع قرار تعييني... ودارت الأيام ووقع رحمة الله عليه قرار تعيين ابني صباح كسكرتير ثالث.
في بداية تعييني عملت سكرتير ثالث في بعثتنا في نيويورك، وكان رئيس بعثتا الأخ الكريم راشد عبدالعزيز الراشد.. نعم الأخ والرئيس كان بوعبدالعزيز، بعدها عملت كمندوب في جنيف وقنصل عام في سويسرا، وبعدها كسفير فوق العادة في إيران وأفغانستان... وكان لي الشرف إني أكون عميد السلك الدبلوماسي.. تلك الذكريات تخليني أعيش معاكم في همومكم ومعاناتكم وفي تفاصيلكم، وفي التضحيات اللي تقدمونها لبلدكم.

ولما نستذكر مسيرة الدبلوماسية الكويتية ما نقدر نتجاوز بعض اللقطات التاريخية مثل صورة سمو الأمير الله يحفظه وهو يرفع علم الكويت في الأمم المتحدة في شهر مايو عام 1963... ومن ينسى المشهد التاريخي لما وقفت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة تقديرا واحتراما لسمو الأمير الشيخ جابر الأحمد طيب الله ثراه في سبتمبر 1990.. لما ألقى كلمته الشهيرة أثناء الاحتلال.

كذلك نستذكر دور وزراء الخارجية.. سمو الأمير الشيخ صباح السالم طيب الله ثراه، وبعده حضرة صاحب السمو الأمير الشيخ صباح الأحمد حفظه الله.. وبعده الأخ الشيخ سالم الصباح رحمه الله... وبعده الأخ الكريم الشيخ الدكتور محمد الصباح، والآن أخونا وعزيزنا الشيخ صباح الخالد... أيضاً أستذكر بمزيد من الحب والاحترام الأخوة الوكلاء اللي تعاقبوا على وزارة الخارجية.. الأخ جاسم القطامي رحمه الله.. وأخونا الكبير عبدالرحمن العتيقي والأخوة راشد الراشد وسليمان الشاهين والآن الأخ خالد الجارالله...

وبالتأكيد لا ننسى أبدا رجال عملوا بصمت في السلك الدبلوماسي الكويتي من سفراء ودبلوماسيين وإداريين وكانوا بحق جنود أوفياء لوطنهم.. وهاذي سنة الحياة إن الرسالة تنتقل من إيد إلى إيد ولكن تبقى راية الكويت دائما عالية وخفاقة... والبيرق بإديكم الآن وإنتوا بالتأكيد أهل للمسؤولية.. وأنا بدوري أؤكد لكم إن وطنكم الكويت بكل أفراده ومؤسساته يضعكم في مكانة عالية مرموقة، وبالتأكيد إنكم محط تقدير واهتمام والد الجميع وعميد وزراء الخارجية في العالم سمو الأمير... اللي يدرك تماما حفظه الله الدور الكبير والمتميز اللي تقومون فيه لخدمة الكويت.

ويمكن شهادتي مجروحة في سمو الأمير لكني دائما أستذكر النجاح الباهرلسموه وللدبلوماسية الكويتية أثناء الاحتلال واللي توج بأكبر حشد دولي لتحرير الكويت، وكان الفضل في ذلك بعد الله لمهندس ماهر... وربان مقتدر...وضع لنا مدرسة شاملة في العمل الدبلوماسي وأدارها مع أخويه سمو الأمير الراحل الشيخ جابر الأحمد، وسمو الأمير الوالد الشيخ سعد العبدالله طيب الله ثراهم.

الأخوات والأخوان...

أود التأكيد أيضا على ثقتنا الكبيرة بالدعم اللي يقدمه لكم أخي ورفيق الدرب سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء الشيخ جابر المبارك، ولا يفوتني الإشادة بمعالي الأخ الشيخ صباح الخالد وزير الخارجية وأركان وزارته على ما يقومون به من جهد لتذليل كل الصعاب التي تواجهكم.

أنا ما ودي أطيل عليكم في هذه المناسبة الاجتماعية... لكن حبيت أرحب فيكم... وأشكركم... ونوصيكم دائما إن يكون عملنا يعكس الوجه الحضاري لدولتنا الحبيبة... وسطية الكويت... اعتدال الكويت... شفافية الكويت... قيم الكويت... وفزعة أهل الكويت لعمل الخير ونصرة المظلوم وإغاثة الملهوف... وتأكدوا إن الكويت بخير وبأيدي أمينة...
وتأكدوا إن مهما تباينت الآراء ستبقى الكــويت أســرة واحـدة متعاضدة... وسيبقى الكويتيون إخوان متحابين...

وترى يا إخوان اللي يجمعنا أكثر من اللي يفرقنا.. والكويتيين طول عمرهم متماسكين ومتحدين حتى وإن اختلفت آراؤهم.. وتعددت اجتهاداتهم... لكن تبقى دائما قلوبهم على بعض.. ويكفي إني أذكركم بأيام الغزو شلون كانت فزعة الكويتيين حق بعضهم بعض.. كان الواحد منهم "يبدي" جاره على نفسه وعياله.. لذلك أنا أؤكد لكم إن الكويتيين كانوا.. ومازالوا.. وسيبقون.. أسرة واحدة.. أسرة متماسكة.. أسرة متحابة... أسرة متراحمة.. أسرة متكاتفة في السراء والضراء.

مرة ثانية، أهلا وسهلا فيكم في بلدكم وبين أهلكم... وقرت عيونا بشوفتكم..

والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وب
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة