Speeches
  At the ceremony of laying the cornerstone of the petroleum coal (calcified) plant at the Petroleum Coal Industries Company.  
  26 April 2006  
     
 

Gentlemen, Chairman and members of the petroleum coal industries,

Dear guests,

Over the past twelve years or more, the Supreme Petroleum Council, chaired by His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah enjoyed His Highness's support, during his tenure, the oil sector benefited from his wisdom which lead to a huge and comprehensive qualitative leap in its concepts, strategic approaches and development projects. His Highness has launched a number of significant initiatives and enhanced the link and integration of the oil sector with various other economic activities, attached special concern to development, research and transfer of technology, as well as supporting the private sector in its oil production, marketing and services projects. Today, we are celebrating the laying of the cornerstone of the petroleum coal plant considering it the prime fruits of this qualitative leap, the kind attendance and sponsorship of His Highness the Prime Minister Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammed Al-Ahmed Al-Sabah clearly reflects his resolve to follow up the process of updating and developing the oil sector in the production, refining, processing and marketing fields. Hence, reflecting his intent on the continuation of the development steps and more projects which control the integration between this sector and other economic activities on the one hand, and consolidate cooperation between the private and public sectors on the other.

Your Highness the Prime Minister,

Dear guests,

The global oil industry records, at this point in time, fast pace developments which exceeded the most optimistic forecasts. Hence, the petroleum administration in Kuwait has not taken an observer's seat concerning these developments, but has rather quickly followed up and proposed strategies and policies that ensure their absorption and conformity, and anticipate their impact so that Kuwait may maintain its leading position on the oil and petroleum productions map. I can confidently say that the strategy of the State of Kuwait is marked by aspirations, caution and emphasis on technical and economic considerations without neglecting the social objectives and, health and environmental criteria. Amongst the most significant strategic goals is for the production of crude oil in Kuwait to reach more than 4 million barrels a day by 2020, expanding the refinery capacity in the country to almost 1.4 million barrels a day, focusing on the rapid development and increasing demand on the petrochemical industries, such as the olefins, aromatics and byproducts. At the same time, this strategy is concerned with updating the fleet of crude oil, LPG (liquefied petroleum gas) and petroleum products tankers, reaching a production of no less than 100 thousand barrels of equivalent oil daily by 2010 for the exploration and production activity outside Kuwait, in addition to investment in the refining and marketing activities in regions with increasing demand particularly in Asia. Perhaps the primary and most important of our oil strategies is to empower the Kuwaiti youth to assume full responsibility for this sector through the great interest continuously demonstrated in programs that develop and qualify Kuwaiti staff on various levels and in all specializations to become capable of carrying out all oil sector tasks and across the sector spectrums; administrative, technical, production, refining, processing, transport and marketing.

On the other hand, economic facts, relative advantage theories and economies of large scale confirm that petrochemical industries will remain the backbone of the industry and processing in Kuwait. Such industries are far reaching and highly diverse, while scientific research and technological development increase the number of its products and their competitiveness in the global markets everyday. In light of this fact, it is no longer admissible for the Kuwaiti oil and petrochemical industry to remain deprived from the expertise, funds and flexibility of the national private sector, and from the technologies and marketing channels of the foreign investor. It is no longer conceivable that the Kuwaiti private sector is kept away from the real industrial investment opportunities in the country. Thus cooperation with the private sector is among the most prominent principles of the new petroleum management in Kuwait, through the privatization of a number of activities and Kuwait Petroleum Corporation's companies, as well as involving the private sector in the oil sector operations and projects. This is in addition to increasing the dependence on the private sector for the contracting, engineering and auxiliary services works, and encouraging it to transfer the oil sector outputs to establish subsequent transformational industries. Therefore, we find that the private sector is currently contributing in the Equate Complex, through Bubyan Petrochemicals Co., its participation in the olefins, aromatics and styrene projects, through Al Qurain Petrochemicals Company, in addition to its acquisition of the oil mixing plant, and previously the chlorine salt plant. A great deal has been accomplished in transferring internal marketing to the private sector through Al Oula Fuel Inc. and Al Sour Fuel Company. According to the study conducted by Kuwait Petroleum Cooperation (KPC) last year, and as confirmed by the directives of the Supreme Petroleum Council, the private sector will be invited to participate in fields and projects in the oil sector including the filling of LPG cylinders, marine agencies, tankers, Kuwait Foreign Petroleum Exploration Company, Petrochemicals industry, the fourth refinery due to be established, in addition to the services provided by Kuwait Oil Company for its employees in Ahmadi City. As for the percentage and manner of the private sector participation, it shall differ from one project to another according to the specialization and needs of each project.

Your Highness the Prime Minister,

Dear guests,

In the framework of this strategy of private sector participation in the oil and petrochemical industry (the calcified coal plant which we lay the foundations for today remains distinguished, it is not an existing plant which opens its doors to private sector contribution, neither is it a mere transfer of ownership and management, but a concept and study which has fully transferred from KPC and KNPC to the national and foreign private sector. It is not established on the contract of building and utilizing the plant only, but is backed up by four other plants to supply associated steam to Ahmadi refinery, Transfer coal from Mina Adullah refinery, supply coal and gas as fuel. Therefore, it is the first petroleum project to be fully owned by the private sector. Its operations require a reciprocal and continuous exchange between this sector and various projects in the oil sector. I extend my felicitations to the petroleum coal industry company and all participating parties on winning the bid for this project through transparency and fair competition. I wish all those in charge every success in this bold step, and I take it upon myself to mention and remind them that the fruits they shall reap will in return require them to shoulder a multidimensional responsibility; a national dimension, reflected in embracing and qualifying national staff and rely on them and a political dimension reflected in establishing and proving the capability of the national private sector to successfully enter the private sector, and a professional dimension to stress the technological and marketing feasibility of the foreign partner. I am confident that those in charge of this pioneering project shall live up to this responsibility along with its three dimensions.

May Allah grant us all success in the service of Kuwait and assist us towards its prosperity.

Wassalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatu Allahi Wa Barakatuh

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سموه في حفل وضع حجر أساس مصنع كلسنة الفحم البترولي بشركة صناعات الفحم البترولي  
  26 أبريل 2006  
     
 

السادة رئيس وأعضاء مجلس إدارة صناعات الفحم البترولي

حضورنا الكريم

على مدى اثني عشر عاما أو تزيد، حظي المجلس الأعلى للبترول برئاسة حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح،  حفظه الله ورعاه، وشهد القطاع النفطي في ظل حكمه ودعم هذه الرئاسة نقلة نوعية كبيرة وشاملة في مفاهيمه الأساسية، وتوجهاته الإستراتيجية، ومشاريعه التنموية، إذ أطلق سموه العديد من المبادرات الهامة، وعزز ارتباط القطاع النفطي وتكامله مع الأنشطة الاقتصادية المختلفة في البلاد، وأولى اهتماما خاصا لمجالات البحث والتطوير ونقل التكنولوجيا، ودعم مشاركة القطاع الخاص في مشاريع المنتجات النفطية والتسويق والخدمات، ونحن اليوم إذ نحتفل بوضع حجر الأساس لمصنع الفحم البترولي باعتباره أحد بواكير ثـمار هذه النقلة النوعية، نقرأ في تكرم سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء، الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الصباح، برعاية وحضور هذا الحفل تصميما واضحا على متابعة مسيرة تحديث وتطوير القطاع النفطي إنتاجا وتكريرا، وتصنيعا وتسويقا. ونستقرىْ ـ بالتالي ـ تواصلا في خطوات التطوير ومزيدا من المشاريع التي تحكم التكامل بين هذا القطاع والأنشطة الاقتصادية الأخرى من جهة، وتوثق التعاون بين القطاعين العام والخاص من جهة ثانية.

سمو الشيخ الرئيس

حضورنا الكريم

تسجل الصناعة النفطية العالمية في هذه الحقبة تطورات متسارعة الوتيرة تجاوزت أكثر التوقعات تفاؤلا. ولم تقف الإدارة البترولية في الكويت حيال هذه التطورات موقف المشاهد، بل عمدت ـ وبسرعة ـ إلى متابعتها ووضع الاستراتيجيات والسياسات الكفيلة باستيعابها ومجاراتها واستباق انعكاساتها ليبقى للكويت موقعها الطليعي المميز على خارطة الإنتاج النفطي والمنتجات البترولية. ويمكنني القول بكامل الثقة أن إستراتيجية دولة الكويت في هذا الصدد تتسم بالطموح دون جموح، وبالتأني دون تباطؤ، كما تتسم بالتأكيد على الاعتبارات الفنية والاقتصادية دون أي تهاون في الإصرار على الأهداف الاجتماعية والمعايير الصحية والبيئية. ومن أهم ملامح وأهداف هذه الإستراتيجية الوصول بإنتاج دولة الكويت من النفط الخام إلى أكثر من 4 ملايين برميل يوميا بحلول عام 2020، والتوسع في الطاقة التكريرية داخل البلاد إلى حوالي 1، 4 مليون برميل يوميا ، والتركيز على الصناعات البتروكيماوية متسارعة النمو متزايدة الطلب مثل العطريات والأوليفينات ومنتجاتها اللاحقة. وفي الوقت ذاته ، تهتم هذه الإستراتيجية بتحديث أسطول ناقلات النفط الخام والغاز المسال والمنتجات البترولية ، وبالوصول إلى إنتاج ما لا يقل عن 100 ألف برميل نفط مكافئ يوميا عام 2010 لنشاط الاستكشاف والإنتاج خارج دولة الكويت ، فضلا عن الاستثمار بأنشطة التكرير والتسويق في المناطق ذات الطلب المتزايد سيما الآسيوية منها. ولعل أول منطلقات إستراتيجيتنا النفطية وأغلى أهدافها في آن معا هو تمكين الشباب الكويتي من تولي كامل مسؤولية هذا القطاع، وذلك من خلال الاهتمام الكبير والمتواصل ببرامج تأهيل وتطوير الكوادر الكويتية على مختلف المستويات وفي كافة التخصصات لتصبح قادرة على النهوض بكل مهام وأعمال القطاع النفطي إداريا وفنيا إنتاجا وتكريرا، صناعة ونقلا وتسويقا.

ومن جهة أخرى، تؤكد الحقائق الاقتصادية ونظريات المزايا النسبية واقتصادات الحجم، أن الصناعات البتروكيماوية ستبقى الخيار الاستراتيجي والعمود الفقري للصناعة والتصنيع في دولة الكويت. وهي صناعات بعيدة الأفق غنية التنوع، يزيد البحث العلمي والتطور التقني من عدد منتجاتها ومن درجة التنافس في أسواقها العالمية كل يوم، وفي ظل هذه الحقيقة ، لم يعد من الجائز أن تبقى الصناعات النفطية و البتروكيماوية في الكويت محرومة من خبرات وأموال ومرونة القطاع الخاص الوطني، ومن تقنيات وقنوات تسويق المستثمر الأجنبي. ولم يعد من الجائز أن يبقى القطاع الخاص الكويتي مبعدا عن فرص الاستثمار الصناعي الحقيقي في البلاد. ومن هنا كان )التعاون مع القطاع الخاص من أبرز أسس الإستراتيجية الجديدة للإدارة النفطية في الكويت. وذلك من خلال خصخصة بعض أنشطة وشركات مؤسسة البترول الكويتية، وإشراك القطاع الخاص في عمليات ومشاريع القطاع النفطي. بالإضافة إلى زيادة الاعتماد على القطاع الخاص في أعمال المقاولات والهندسة والخدمات المساندة، وتشجيعه على تحويل مخرجات القطاع النفطي لإقامة صناعات تحويلية لاحقة. وهكذا نجد أن القطاع الخاص )يساهم الآن في مجمع إيكويت من خلال شركة بوبيان للبتروكيماويات ، ويشارك في مشاريع الأوليفينات والعطريات والستيرن من خلال شركة القرين للبتروكيماويات ، فضلا عن تملكه لمصنع مزج الزيوت وقبله مصنع ملح الكلورين. كما تم قطع شوط بعيد في نقل التسويق الداخلي إليه من خلال الشركة الأولى للوقود وشركة السور للوقود. وتبعا للدراسة التي أنجزتها مؤسسة البترول الكويتية العام الماضي، وما أكدته توجهات المجلس الأعلى للبترول ، فإن القطاع الخاص سيدعى إلى المشاركة بمجالات ومشاريع عديدة في القطاع النفطي منها ، تعبئة اسطوانات الغاز المسال، والوكالات البحرية ، والناقلات ، والشركة الكويتية للاستكشافات البترولية الخارجية ، وصناعات الكيماويات البترولية، والمصفاة الرابعة المزمع إقامتها ، فضلا عن الخدمات التي تقدمها شركة نفط الكويت لموظفيها في مدينة الأحمدي. أما نسبة وأسلوب مشاركة القطاع الخاص فستختلف من مشروع لآخر تبعا لخصوصية واحتياجات كل مشروع.

سمو رئيس مجلس الوزراء

حضورنا الكريم

في إطار هذه المنهجية لمشاركة القطاع الخاص في الصناعة النفطية و البتروكيماوية، (يبقى لمصنع الفحم المكلسن، الذي نضع اليوم حجره الأساسي موقع متميز، فهو ليس مصنعا قائما يفتح بابه لمساهمة القطاع الخاص. وهو ليس مجرد نقل للملكية والإدارة، بل هو فكرة ودراسة انتقلت بكاملها من مؤسسة البترول الكويتية وشركة البترول الوطنية الكويتية إلى القطاع الخاص الوطني والأجنبي ، وهو لا يقوم على عقد بناء واستغلال المصنع فقط، بل تسانده أربعة عقود أخرى لتزويد البخار المصاحب إلى مصفاة الأحمدي ، ونقل الفحم من مصفاة ميناء عبد الله، وتزويد الفحم ، وتزويد الغاز كوقود. وبالتالي، فهو أول مشروع نفطي ـإن صح التعبيرـ  يملكه القطاع الخاص بكامله، وتقتضي عملياته تعاونا متبادلا ومستمرا بين هذا القطاع ومشاريع مختلفة في القطاع النفطي. وإني إذ أهنئ )شركة صناعات الفحم البترولي) بأطرافها المشاركة على فوزها بهذا المشروع من خلال مزايدة بالغة الشفافية وعادلة المنافسة ، وأتمنى للقائمين عليها كل النجاح والتوفيق في خطوتهم الشجاعة هذه ، أجد من واجبي أن أذكر لهم وأذكرهم بأن ما سيحصلون عليه من ثـمار طيبة بإذن الله ، يضع عليهم بالمقابل مسؤولية متعددة الأبعاد ، يتمثل بُعدها الوطني في احتضان وتأهيل الكوادر الوطنية والاعتماد عليها. ويتمثل بعدها السياسي بإثبات وتكريس قدرة القطاع الخاص الوطني على الدخول بنجاح في مجال القطاع النفطي. ويتمثل بعدها المهني في تأكيد الجدوى التقنية والتسويقية للشريك الأجنبي، وإني لأشعر بثقة كبيرة بأن القائمين على هذا المشروع الرائد قادرون ـ بإذن الله وتوفيقه ـ على النهوض بهذه المسؤولية بأبعادها الثلاثة.

وفقنا الله جميعا لخدمة الكويت وازدهارها،
والسلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته ،،،

 
 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة