Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammed Al-Ahmed Al-Sabah at the lunch banquet held in honor of His Excellency Mr. Etienne Thévoz, Ambassador of the Swiss Confederation on the occasion of the end of his mission in Kuwait  
  13 October 2015  
     
 

In the name of Allah the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful
And prayer and peace be upon Prophet Mohammed bin Abdullah, his family and all his companions

His Excellency Ambassador of the Swiss Federation Mr. Etienne Thévoz and his spouse,
Their Excellencies the Ambassadors and members of the Diplomatic Corps,
Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
Peace, mercy and blessings of God be upon you,

As much as I am happy to meet you today, I am sad to bid farewell to His Excellency Mr. Etienne Thévoz, Ambassador of the Swiss Confederation, who spent in Kuwait around four years, during which he represented in the best way, his country, his people and his government. Switzerland occupies a distinguished place in my personal experience. I lived there and did my university studies, which has contributed to the formation of my knowledge, my culture and my outlook on life. Switzerland for me is not only the country of beauty, of beautiful nature and of prosperity. It is rather the rooted confederation, the country of democracy, the country of freedom, the country of justice, the country of law, and on top of that, it is the neutral country of the world. For, although Switzerland is located in the heart of the European continent, and despite its religious and linguistic diversity, it maintained its neutrality since the thirteenth century and avoided being involved in wars, which made it the cradle of the Red Cross, the headquarters of many international organizations, the second largest office of the United Nations Organization, and one of the fortresses of justice in the world. Here, I remember my late colleague and friend, Jassim Mohammed Abdulmohsen Al-Kharafi, Speaker of the National Assembly from 1999 until 2012, who told me every time I went to Switzerland, "Do not just enjoy the beauty of nature in Switzerland, but take the opportunity to enjoy the democratic regime and the refined and authentic people." I wish he was among us today, however, I have invited his sons, Mr. Louay Jassem Al-Kharafi and Mr. Talal Jassem Al-Kharafi, to honor the memory of their dear father.

Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
Swiss-Kuwaiti relations are seen as a successful model of diplomatic relations, which have recently reached their closest level. The cooperation in economic, commercial, cultural, military and financial fields has reached good levels. The volume of Kuwaiti investments in Switzerland has exceeded eight and a half billion dollars. An academic relationship between the University of Geneva and the University of Kuwait was recently established through a cooperation agreement for purposes of educational and academic exchange. In all cases, we Kuwaitis can never forget the historical position of Switzerland during the invasion of Saddam Hussein, till the liberation of our country. Switzerland welcomed the Kuwaitis who were in Switzerland at that time, and opened for them all the doors, including schools, until the liberation of the country. Switzerland also supported the legitimate position of Kuwait to the United Nations Organization and the international organizations. For this reason, it was agreed to celebrate, in 2016, the fiftieth anniversary of launching the bilateral relations between Kuwait and the Swiss Confederation.

Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
On this occasion, I recall my official visit to Bern, the federal capital of the Swiss Confederation, in September 2011, when, during the official talks with Her Excellency the Swiss President at that time, Micheline Calmy-Rey, she introduced me to Mr. Etienne Thévoz, as the new ambassador of the Swiss Confederation to Kuwait. I remember my meetings with the representatives of Switzerland, our successful talks, and my visit to the exceptional Swiss Parliament, which is distinguished by its democracy and its unique historical building; it's a visit I cherish during the period of my official work.

Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
Today, I regret to say goodbye to a colleague who is dear to us, His Excellency Ambassador Etienne Thévoz, who played a key role in the development of relations between our two countries. We wish him all the success in representing his country in the other countries of the world, with the same courage, the same energy and the same sincerity that we have witnessed during his stay among us for the last years. Perhaps his diplomatic work experience in Kuwait will enrich his experience when he assumes his duties in the State of Qatar, because of the great similarity between our societies and regimes in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). And the proximity of these countries will allow him to come, whenever he wants, to Kuwait, where he will always be welcomed.
On this occasion, I remember a verse of Arabic poetry that says:
"We stayed in this place, and then we left, because life is an arrival and a departure."

Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
Those who work in the diplomatic corps know that traveling and moving out is the fate of the diplomats and their families. Departure, arrival, meeting, farewell and nostalgia, form an essential vocabulary in their life. As soon as the diplomat lands and starts - with his homesickness – his journey in a new place, he finds himself, the day he leaves with a large network of relationships, friendships, memories, feelings and positions. And it is this network of relationships that makes it difficult for him to leave and tempt him to stay. However, the fate of a diplomat is to follow this circular movement, which brings him back, every time, to the starting point, and the result of this repetitive circular movement of the diplomat is a wealth of accumulated knowledge from various cultures, languages, information, history, and geography, making him a distinguished person in the society, and I say this based on the expertise that I gained through my experience in diplomatic work for thirty years, inside and outside my country Kuwait.

Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,
Kuwaiti diplomacy, which pillars were established by my mentor, His Highness the Amir of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, who was the dean of diplomacy in the world, is based on communicating with everybody, within the framework of the international and Arab conventions. It seeks to bring together and reconcile instead of arguing and cutting ties, within a framework of mutual respect. This diplomacy also believes in the importance of the humanitarian role towards people afflicted or needy. Here, I want to emphasize in my speech, an essential rule of Kuwaiti diplomacy, which is that Kuwait does never forget its friends, and does never forget those who supported it in difficult times. Their names will remain in the memory of our future generations. A friend in need is a friend indeed as the English proverb says, and the position of Switzerland towards the tyrannical invasion of Saddam Hussein to Kuwait will remain engraved in the memory of our generations and in the history of Kuwait.

In conclusion, I would like to thank you all, and I would like to thank His Excellency Ambassador Etienne Thévoz for all his efforts in strengthening the various relationships between our two countries. I wish him success and good luck in his work and in the service of his country.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سموّ الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الصباح في مأدبة الغداء التي أقامها سموّه على شرف سعادة السفير السويسري إتيان تيفو بمناسبة انتهاء مهامه في الكويت  
  13 أكتوبر 2015  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

والصلاة والسلام على النبي الأمين، محمد بن عبدالله، وعلى آله وصحبه أجمعين
سعادة سفير الإتحاد السويسري السيد إيتيان تيفو وحرمه،         
أصحاب السعادة،
أصحاب السعادة السادة السفراء وأعضاء السلك الديبلوماسي،
السيدات والسادة الحضور،
السلام عليكم ورحمة الله و بركاته،
بمقدار سعادتي للقائكم اليوم في هذا الحفل، أحمل نفس المقدار من الأسف لرحيل سعادة السفير إتيان تيفو، سفير الإتحاد السويسري، والذي قضى لدينا في الكويت نحو أربع سنوات، قام خلالها بتمثيل وطنه وشعبه وحكومته  خير تمثيل. ولسويسرا موقع خاص في تجربتي الشخصية، نتيجة إقامتي ودراستي الجامعية فيها، مما ساهم في تشكيل إدراكي وثقافتي ونظرتي للحياة. فسويسرا بالنسبة لي ليست فقط بلد الجمال والطبيعة الخلابة والازدهار، بل هي كونفدرالية عريقة، بلد الديمقراطية، وبلد الحرية، وبلد العدالة، وبلد القانون - وهي قيم راسخة في المجتمع السويسري تمتد إلى قرون – فضلاً عن كونها بلد الحياد في العالم. فرغم أن سويسرا تقع في قلب القارة الأوروبية، ورغم تنوعها الديني واللغوي، إلاّ أنها حافظت على حيادها منذ القرن الثالث عشر الميلادي وتجنبت التورط في الحروب، مما جعلها مهد الصليب الأحمر، وموطناً لعدد كبير من المنظمات الدولية، وثاني أكبر مكتب لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة، وأحد قلاع العدالة في العالم. ولعلني أتذكر هنا زميلي وصديقي الراحل السيد جاسم محمد عبدالمحسن الخرافي رحمه الله، رئيس مجلس الأمة من فترة 1999 الى 2012، الذي كان يقول لي كلما كنت أتأهب للسفر الى سويسرا، "لا تستمع بجمال الطبيعة في سويسرا فحسب بل تمتع بالنظام الديمقراطي العادل فيها، ورقي شعبها العريق". ولكم كنت أتمنى أن يكون هو بيننا اليوم في هذا الحفل، لكنني دعوت ولديه السيد لؤي جاسم الخرافي، والسيد طلال جاسم الخرافي، تكريماً لذكرى والدهما العزيز.
أصحاب السعادة، السيدات والسادة الحضور،
إن العلاقات الكويتية السويسرية تعتبر نموذجاً ناجحاً من العلاقات الدبلوماسية، التي وصلت في الآونة الأخيرة إلى أوثق ما يكون. إن التعاون على كل من الصعيد الاقتصادي والتجاري والثقافي والعسكري والمالي قد بلغ مستويات جيدة. إن حجم الاستثمارات الكويتية في سويسرا قد تجاوز ثمانية مليارات ونصف المليار دولار. كما تمّ مؤخراً تدشين العلاقة الأكاديمية بين جامعة جنيف وجامعة الكويت عن طريق اتفاقية تعاون من أجل التبادل التعليمي والأكاديمي. وفي كل الأحوال لا يمكننا أن ننسى نحن الكويتيون، موقف سويسرا التاريخي إبّان فترة غزو صدام حسين الغاشم، وحتى تحرير البلاد. اذ استضافت الكويتيين الذين تواجدوا آنذاك في سويسرا، وفتحت لهم أبوابها بما فيها المدارس، إلى حين تحرير البلاد. كما دعمت موقف الكويت الشرعي أمام الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الدولية. ولهذا كله تم الاتفاق على الاحتفال في عام 2016 بالذكرى الخمسين لاطلاق العلاقات الثنائية بين الكويت والاتحاد السويسري.
أصحاب السعادة، السيدات والسادة الحضور،
في هذه المناسبة، أنا أتذكر زيارتي الرسمية إلى بيرن، العاصمة الفدرالية للإتحاد السويسري، في شهر سبتمبر 2011، حيث أجريت مع فخامة الرئيس السويسري آنذاك السيدة ميشلين كالمي راي، مباحثات الرسمية، قدّمت لي خلالها السيد إيتيان تيفو، كسفير جديد للإتحاد السويسري في الكويت. كما أستذكر لقاءاتي بالمسؤولين السويسريين، ومباحثاتنا الناجحة، وزيارتي المتميزة إلى البرلمان السويسري، العريق بديمقراطيته، ذي المبنى التاريخي المتميز،  وهي زيارة اعتز بها ضمن عملي الرسمي.
أصحاب السعادة، السيدات والسادة الحضور،
يؤسفني اليوم أن نودع زميلاً عزيزاً علينا، سعادة السفير إتيان تيفو، الذي كان له دور بارز في تطوير العلاقات بين بلدينا، متمنين له التوفيق المستمر في تمثيل بلاده في بقية دول العالم، بنفس الهمة والنشاط والجدية التي رأيناه فيها خلال تواجده بيننا في السنوات الماضية. ولعل تجربته في العمل الدبلوماسي بالكويت سوف تثري تجربته عند تسلّمه مهام منصبه في دولة قطر الشقيقة، نظرا للتشابه الكبير بين مجتمعاتنا وأنظمتنا في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. كما أن قرب المسافة سيمكّنه من زيارة الكويت وقتما يشاء، فأهلاً وسهلاً به في كل وقت.
وفي هذه المناسبة أتذكر بيت الشعر العربي الذي يقول "نزلنا في هذا المكان ثم رحلنا، ذلك لأن الحياة عبارة عن وصول ومغادرة".
أصحاب السعادة، السيدات والسادة الحضور،
إن من يعمل بالسلك الدبلوماسي يعلم أن الترحال والتنقل هو قدر الدبلوماسيين وعائلاتهم. فالرحيل والوصول واللقاء والوداع والشوق والحنين مفردات مفصلية في حياتهم. وما أن يحط الدبلوماسي رحاله في محطّة، ويبدأ مع وحشة الغربة مشواره فيها، حتى يجد نفسه يوم الرحيل قد انتهى بشبكة كثيفة من العلاقات والصداقات والمشاعر والذكريات والمواقف. وهذه الشبكة من العلاقات هي التي تثقل يومَ رحيله وتشدّه للبقاء. غير أن قدر الدبلوماسي هو أن يسلك تلك الحركة الدائرية التي تعيده إلى نقطة البدء في كل مرة، ونتيجة لتلك الحركة المتكررة يتحول الدبلوماسي إلى ثروة معرفية متراكمة من الثقافات واللغات والمعلومات والتاريخ والجغرافيا، مما يجعله شخصاً ذا قيمة متميزة في مجتمعه؛ وأنا أقول ذلك عن خبرة اكتسبتها من تجربتي في العمل الدبلوماسي، لمدة ثلاثين عاماً، خارج وداخل بلدي الكويت.
أصحاب السعادة، السيدات والسادة الحضور،
إن الدبلوماسية الكويتية التي وضع قواعدها أستاذي ومعلمي صاحب السمو أمير دولة الكويت، الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح حفظه الله، والذي كان عميداً للدبلوماسية في العالم، تقوم على مد حبل التواصل مع الجميع في إطار المواثيق الدولية والعربية، وتسعى للتقريب والتصالح بدلاً من الخصام والمقاطعة في ظل الاحترام المتبادل. كما أنها تؤمن بأهمية الدور الإنساني إزاء شعوب العالم المنكوبة أو المحتاجة. وهناك قاعدة أساسية في الدبلوماسية الكويتية، أريد أن أبرزها هنا في كلمتي هذه، وهي أن الكويت لا تنسى أصدقاءها، ولا تنسى من ساندها ووقف معها في أوقاتها العصيبة وأزماتها الحادّة، وستظل أسماؤهم باقية في ذاكرة الأجيال القادمة. فالصديق وقت الضيق؛ ولهذا سيظل موقف سويسرا من الغزو الغاشم للكويت محفوراً في ذاكرة الأجيال، وفي تاريخ الكويت.
وفي ختام كلمتي أود أن أشكركم جميعاً، وأشكر سعادة السفير إيتيان تيفو على كل جهوده في تدعيم العلاقات المختلفة بين بلدينا، وتمنياتي له بالتوفيق والنجاح في عمله، وخدمة وطنه.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة