Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah on the visit of the President of the National Council of Switzerland  
  09 October 2017  
     
 

Mr. Jürg Stahl, President of the National Council,

Your Excellencies the Ambassadors and members of the diplomatic corps,

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is my pleasure to welcome our guest Mr. Jürg Stahl, President of the National Council of Switzerland, and his delegation who is visiting Kuwait at the official invitation of his counterpart the President of the National Assembly of Kuwait. This visit comes after the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of diplomatic relations between Kuwait and Switzerland, which witnessed political and cultural activities in both countries during the last year, the most important of which was the official visit of the former President of the Swiss Confederation to the State of Kuwait, Johann Schneider-Ammann in November 2016, and whom I had the pleasure to receive here with his delegation. This visit represented a Quantum leap in the ties of the two countries and your visit today reflects the steady growth of bilateral relations between the State of Kuwait and the Swiss Confederation, established on a solid basis since 1966. It also highlights the engagement of the two parties to enhance cooperation in various fields and to explore the best ways to develop them. On a personal level, I cherish the official visit I paid to the Swiss Confederation in September 2011,when I went to Bern as well as to the Parliament where I met Mr. Jean-René Germanier, President of the Parliament at the time, and many members of the Council.

 

Mr. the President of the National Council,

We will never forget the position of your country during Saddam Hussein's aggression against my country in 1990. You supported Kuwait during its crisis and supported our people during their endurance, by constantly demanding the application of international laws and conventions to end the aggression. We will never forget Switzerland's position towards Kuwait, nor how it responded to our suffering during the invasion of Saddam Hussein by opening the doors of its schools to our children and providing free services to all Kuwaitis residing within its territory. We will never forget the position of the Swiss government regarding the issue of prisoners and missing persons through the efforts made by the International Committee of the Red Cross. This position will be engraved in the history of Kuwait forever.

 

Mr. the President of the National Council,

I would like to express the appreciation and gratitude of the Kuwaiti people to the Swiss Confederation for its support to the State of Kuwait as per its candidacy for a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council for 2018-2019. I would like to emphasize that Kuwait will do its utmost to promote peace and stability, and to fight terrorism and poverty in the world. In this regard, we hope to gain the continuous support of the Swiss Confederation, as Kuwait is planning to host three conferences next year:

-      A conference to support the Palestinian children;

-      A conference to support education in Somalia;

-      And a conference focusing on the reconstruction of Iraq.

 

Mr. the President of the National Council,

Our mutual relations are witnessing a considerable growth. Some of its most important indicators are the number of agreements signed between the two countries, which amounted to thirteen agreements, the volume of investments initiated by Kuwait Investment Authority in Switzerland in 2016 that exceeded 7 billion Swiss francs, and the number of Kuwaiti tourists to Switzerland estimated at 33000 per year. We are keen to pursue our work with you in the next phase on the free trade agreement between the Gulf countries and the EFTA countries, which links Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein through mechanisms that ensure the implementation of the agreement and strengthen the economic and commercial relations among all these countries. We hope as well that Kuwait's candidacy to join the Asian Development Bank ADB will have your support.

 

Mr. the President of the National Council,

I would like to welcome you again, as well as the members of the National Council, and I’d like to assure you that I cherish your visit which reflects the deep bonds of friendship that bring together our peoples and our mutual interest in supporting bridges of communication and rapprochement.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الجابر الصباح بمناسبة زيارة رئيس المجلس الوطني السويسري  
  09 أكتوبر 2017  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

السيد يورغ شتال رئيس مجلس النواب للإتحاد السويسري المحترم،

السيدات والسادة، أعضاء الوفد المرافق المحترمين،

السيدات والسادة الشيوخ والسفراء وأعضاء السلك الدبلوماسي،

الضيوف الكرام،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،

 

يسعدني أن أرحب بضيفنا العزيز السيد يورغ شتال رئيس مجلس النواب في الاتحاد السويسري، والوفد المرافق له، والذي يزور الكويت بدعوة رسمية من نظيره معالي رئيس مجلس الأمة بدولة الكويت.تأتي هذه الزيارة في عقب الاحتفال بمرور خمسين عاما على العلاقات الدبلوماسية بين الكويت وسويسرا، وهو احتفال شهد فعاليات سياسية وثقافية متعددة ومتبادلة بين البلدين خلال العام الماضي، وكان من أهمها الزيارة الرسمية لدولة الكويت التي قام بها فخامة يوهان شنايدر آمان، الرئيس السابق للمجلس الفيدرالي السويسري في نوفمبر 2016، والذي أعتز باستقباله ووفده هنا. تمثل هذه الزيارة نقلة نوعية في العلاقات بين البلدين، كما أن زيارتكم اليوم تعكس تناميا مطردا للعلاقات الثنائية بين دولة الكويت والاتحاد السويسري، والتي تأسست على قاعدة متينة منذ عام 1966، وتؤكد حرص الطرفين على مواصلة تعزيز التعاون في مختلف المجالات، وبحث أفضل السبل لتطويرها. ولعلني شخصيا أعتز بزيارتي الرسمية إلى الاتحاد السويسري، في سبتمبر عام 2011، حيث قمت بزيارة برن والبرلمان السويسري والتقيت بالسيد جان-رينيه جرمنييه رئيس البرلمان في ذلك الوقت، وعدد من السادة الأعضاء المحترمين.

السيّد رئيس مجلس النواب،

نحن في الكويت لا ننسى مواقف بلدكم إبان اعتداء صدّام حسين على بلدي عام 1990، التي دعمت الكويت أثناء أزمتها، وتفاعلت مع محنة شعبها، من خلال مطالبتكم المستمرة بضرورة تطبيق القوانين والمواثيق الدولية وانهاء العدوان. ولا ننسى كيف تفاعلت الحكومة السويسرية مع معاناتنا إبان الغزو العراقي، عندما فتحت مدارسها لأبنائنا، وقدمت خدماتها لكل الكويتيين المقيمين على أراضيها بالمجان. كما لا ننسى كذلك موقف الحكومة السويسرية من قضية الأسرى والمفقودين، من خلال جهودها التي بذلتها داخل اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر.

 

السيّد رئيس مجلس النواب،

أود أن أعبر عن تقدير وامتنان الشعب الكويتي للاتحاد السويسري على دعمه لدولة الكويت في ترشيحها للعضوية غير الدائمة في مجلس الأمن للفترة 2018-2019. كما أود أن أؤكد أن الكويت ستبذل قصارى جهدها من هذا الموقع لدعم قضايا السلام والاستقرار ومحاربة الإرهاب والفقر في العالم. في هذا الصدد، أتمنى أن تحظى الكويت بدعم الاتحاد السويسري المستمر، علماً أن الكويت تنوي استضافة  ثلاثة مؤتمرات خلال العام القادم، وهي مؤتمر لدعم الطفل الفلسطيني، ومؤتمر خاص بدعم التعليم في الصومال، ومؤتمر آخر خاص بإعادة إعمار العراق.

 

السيّد رئيس مجلس النواب،

إن علاقتنا المشتركة آخذة بالنمو والإزدهار، ولعل أهم مؤشراتها هو عدد الإتفاقيات التي وقعت بين البلدين، والتي بلغت ثلاث عشر إتفاقية، وحجم استثمارات الهيئة العامة للاستثمارات الكويتية في سويسرا في عام 2016، والذي 7 مليار فرنك سويسري، وعدد السائحين الكويتيين في سويسرا، والذي يقدّر بحوالي 33 ألف سنوياً. ونحن نسعى بشكل حثيث لمواصلة العمل المشترك معكم في المرحلة المقبلة بشأن اتفاقية التجارة الحرة بين دول الخليج ودول رابطة التجارة الحرة الأوروبية، التي تربط بين سويسرا والنرويج وايسلندا وليختنشتاين، وذلك عبر آليات تضمن تفعيل الاتفاقية بين دولنا، وتعزّز الروابط الاقتصادية والتجارية بين كافة الأطراف. هذا ونأمل أن يحظى طلب الكويت للترشح للانضمام إلى بنك التنمية الآسيوي ADBبدعمكم وتأييدكم.

 

حضرة الرئيس، السيّد رئيس مجلس النواب،

أود أن أرحّب بكم من جديد، كما أودّ أن أرحّب بأعضاء برلمان الاتحاد السويسري، مؤكداً بالغ اعتزازي بهذه الزيارة التي تعكس عمق أواصر الصداقة بين شعبينا، والحرص المتبادل بيننا على دعم جسور التواصل والتقارب والحوار.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة