Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Mohamed Al-Ahmed Al-Jabber Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah at the investiture ceremony of awarding His Highness the Star of Africa, with the grade of Grand Brand, in Liberia  
  21st April 2017  
     
 

Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of the Republic of Liberia,

His Excellency Mr. Joseph NyomaBoakai, Vice-President of the Republic of Liberia,

His Excellency Mr. G. Emmanuel Nuquay, Speaker of the House of Representatives,

His Excellency Mr. Armah Zulu Jallah, Interim Senate President,

His Excellency Francis Korkpor, Top Judiciary official and Chief Justice of Liberia,

Their Excellencies the President and Members of the Government,

Their Excellencies the President and Members of the Diplomatic Corps and Consular Missions,

Mr. ZazanKarour, Chairman of the Liberian Heritage Council and Members of the Council

President and Members of the Supreme Council of Churches

Mr. Iman, Head of the Muslim Council of Liberia and Members of the Council,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

Before I extend my greetings to all of you, I would like to convey to you the regards of His Highness the Emir of the State of Kuwait, and his best wishes for progress and prosperity to the Liberian people and government, as well as his pride in the friendship ties that bring together our two countries. I would also like to convey His Highness special greetings to the President of Liberia, Madam Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, to whomhe has special and deep respect earned by her political and economic position in the world of today. As a matter of fact, the international community knew her before becoming the President of the Republic of Liberia, as an economist in the International Bank, then as the vice-president of the African Regional Office of Citi Bank, as well as the Head of the United Nations Development Program at the African Regional Office and as a member of the Board of Women’s International Leadership. She earned the respect of the international community and deserved to enter history as the first woman to be elected as a president in the African continent. In 2011, she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize along with hercompatriot Lima Goboy and the YemeniteTawakul Kerman. Her constructive role in restoring the stability of the Republic of Liberia, promoting economic and social development, and strengthening the status of women, got Forbes magazine to rank her among the world's most powerful women in 2014.

 

I would also like to convey to you the condolences of His Highness on the passing of the Ambassador of the Republic of Liberia to the State of Kuwait, Mr. Konah K. Blackett. The Ambassador worked very hard to develop the relationship between our two countries,andhis death is the loss of a good friend of our country.

 

I would like to thank you for the award of the "Star of Africa with the grade of Grand Band." This Honor reflects the depth of friendship between our two countries and the sincere intention to further develop it.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

Liberia was one of the first African countries to start the process of modernization, by starting to develop its economy in the early 1940s. In the 1950s,it reached one of the highest rate of economic growth in the world. During those years, Roberts International Airport, which is one of the first international airports in Africa, was inaugurated. In addition, Liberia owns the world’s second largest record of marine navigation, which is about 11% of the world's ships. On the international level, Liberia was a founding member of League of Nations in 1919 and the United Nations in 1945 and was one of the most vocal critics of apartheid in South Africa. It supported the liberation and independence movements fighting against colonial Powers throughout Africa and contributed to the establishment of the Organization of African Unityand the African Union. These successful beginnings achieved by the Liberian people in the middle of the last century indicate that you are a people with great potentials, and with these potentials, you can carry out many remarkable achievements if you have stability and social peace.

 

If Liberia has lost its stability during the last decades, which led to its regression and to the loss of many of its pioneer achievements, I am sure that the tough experience of disintegration, chaos and fighting has taught the Liberian people to identify their strengths and weaknesses as well as risks and opportunities. It has strengthened their determination and their will to go ahead and construct what was destroyed and catch up on what they missed.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

Madame President, you have been able to increase the revenues of the State by 600 times, from 2005 until today, and according to the above and to the reform and development programs, I would like to point out with pride that the international political and economic indicators have shown improvement in Liberia, and regardless of the amount of that improvement, it’s still a strong indicator that you are going in the right direction to overcome your issues. The 2005 elections were a strong indicator of detente, and the international community considered them the most honest elections in Liberia's history, which created a feeling of relief among the international companies. This relief was reflected in the increase of foreign direct investment rate, which led to the increase of Economic agreements signed by major donor countries and companies with the Liberiangovernment.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The foreign policy of Kuwait is characterized by a universal humanitarian trait. It has adopted the principle of supporting development projects in friendly countries, providing humanitarian assistance to the affected areas, supporting the victims of natural disasters, wars and conflicts and working to alleviate their suffering. It is a traditional policy that characterized the State of Kuwait since the sixties of the last century and got our country to be ranked the first in the Gulf, and the thirteenth in the world, in terms of supporting development projects. In addition to that, the State of Kuwait provides direct assistance or through government agencies and it has hosted several international humanitarian conferences and summits to raise funds to support afflicted people. I would like to point out that this humanitarian policy was established by my mentor, His Highness the Emir of the State of Kuwait, Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah, whose rule is distinguished by the humanitarian and relief aspect on a worldwide level, so much that the Secretary General of the United Nations Ban Ki-moon described Kuwait as a "universal humanitarian center" and His Highness the Emir as the “Leader of Humanitarian Action”, confirming thus the positive and pioneering humanitarian role of Kuwait.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

I would like to extend my thanks to the Republic of Liberia, to its people and Government, especially to Her Excellency President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, for awarding me this high Honor which reflects the deep bonds of friendship between our two peoples and our mutual engagement to further promote the communication and rapprochement between our two countries. My best wishes to all of you for success and prosperity.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الجابر الصباح في حفل تقليديه وسام وشاح الفرسان الأكبر في جمهورية ليبيريا  
  21 أبريل 2017  
     
 

فخامة السيدة إلين جونسون سيرليف، رئيسة جمهورية ليبيريا،

معالي السيد جوزيف نيوما بواكاي، نائب رئيس جمهورية ليبيريا،

معالي السيد جي. إمانويل نوجويه، رئيس مجلس النواب،

معالي السيد أرما زولو جللا، الرئيس المؤقت لمجلس الشيوخ،

سعادة المستشار فرانسيس كركبور، رئيس القضاء ورئيس المحكمة العليا في ليبيريا رئيس وأعضاء القضاء المعاون للمحكمة العليا،

السادة رئيس وأعضاء الحكومة،

السادة رئيس وأعضاء السلك الدبلوماسي والبعثات القنصلية،

السيد الممثل الخاص للأمين العام ورؤساء المنظمات الدولية،

السيد زازان كاروور رئيس مجلس التراث الليبيري وأعضاء المجلس الكرام،

السيد رئيس وأعضاء المجلس الأعلى للكنائس،

السيد إيمان رئيس المجلس الإسلامي في ليبيريا وأعضاء المجلس الكرام،

السيدات والسادة الكرام،

 

يسرني في البدايةأن أوجه لكم جميعاً تحية ملؤها الاحترام والتقدير، ويسعدني أنأنقل لكم تحيات أمير دولة الكويت، صاحب السمو الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر الصباح، وأجمل تمنياته بالتقدم والازدهار للشعب الليبيري وحكومته، واعتزازه بأواصر الصداقة بين بلدينا. كما أنقلخالص تقديره لفخامة الرئيسة إلين جونسون سيرليف رئيسة جمهورية ليبيريا، التي يكن لها سموه تقدير واحترام خاصّين، لمكانتها السياسية والاقتصادية في عالمنا اليوم.فلقد عرف المجتمع الدولي فخامة الرئيسة قبل تسنمها منصب رئاسة الجمهورية في جمهورية ليبيريا. عرفها كخبيرة اقتصادية بالبنك الدولي، وعرفها كنائب رئيس المكتب الإقليمي الأفريقي لسيتي بنك، وعرفها كمدير لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في المكتب الإقليمي لأفريقيا، وعرفها كعضو في مجلس القيادات النسائية العالمية. فهي سيدة فرضت احترامها في المجتمع الدولي بجدارة، ولذلك استحقت أن تدخل التاريخ بوصفها أول رئيسة جمهورية منتخبة في القارة الأفريقية. وقد دخلته بجدارة شهدت بها الأوساط الراقية في المجتمع الدولي، مما أهلها لأن تحوز على جائزة نوبلللسلام لعام 2011، مع مواطنتها ليما غوبوي واليمنية توكل كرمان.وبسب دورها البنّاء في إعادة الاستقرار إلى جمهورية ليبيريا، والترويج للتطورالاقتصادي والاجتماعي، وتعزيز وضع النساء، قامتمجلة فوربس بوضعها ضمن قائمة أقوى النساء في العالم لعام 2014.

 

أود كذلك أن أنقل لكم تعازي سموه في وفاة سفير جمهورية ليبيريا لدى دولة الكويت، السيد كوناه بلاكيت. لقد عمل السفيرجاهداًمن أجل تطوير العلاقة بين بلدينا، ووفاته هي خسارة صديق عزيز على بلدنا.

 

كما يسعدني أن أعرب عن شكري وسروري لمبادرتكم الكريمة لتقليدي وسام "وشاح الفرسان الأكبر". وهذا التكريم يدل على عمق الصداقة بين بلدينا، والرغبة الأكيدة في تطويرها وتنميتها.

 

السيدات والسادة،

لقد كانت ليبيريا من الدول الأفريقية الأولى التي بدأت عملية التحديث في وقت مبكر، حيث شرعت في أربعينات القرن الماضي في تنمية اقتصادها، حتى وصلت في الخمسينات إلى واحدة من أعلى معدلات النمو الاقتصادي في العالم. وفي تلك السنوات تم افتتاح مطار روبرتس الدولي، الذي يعتبر من أوائل المطارات الدولية في أفريقيا. وتمتلك ليبيريا ثاني أكبر سجل ملاحة بحرية في العالم، حيث تسجل تحت علمها ما يقارب 11% من السفن في العالم.

وأما على المستوى الدولي، فقد كانت ليبيريا عضواً مؤسساً للأمم المتحدة في عام 1945، كما كانت من أشد منتقدي نظام الفصل العنصري في جنوب أفريقيا، ودعمت حركات التحرر والاستقلال من القوى الاستعمارية في عموم أفريقيا، وساهمت في إنشاء منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية. هذه البدايات الناجحة التي حققها الشعب الليبيري في منتصف القرن الماضي تدل على أنكم شعب يملك امكانات كبيرة، تستطيعون من خلالها تحقيق الكثير من الانجازات المذهلة، إذا ما تحقق لكم الاستقرار والسلم الاجتماعي.

وإذا كانت ليبيريا قد فقدت استقراراها خلال العقود الأخيرة، وأدى ذلك إلى تراجعها، وخسرتكثير من انجازاتها التي سبقت بها غيرها، فإنني واثق أن التجرية القاسية من التفكك والفوضى والاقتتال، قد علّمت الشعب الليبيري مواضع الضعف والقوة فيه، ومواضع الفرص والمخاطر، وزودته بعزيمة وتصميم للمضي قدماً في بناء ما تهدم، واللحاق بما فاته من ركب التقدم.

 

السيدات والسادة،

بناء على ما تقدم، وبصفتي متابع لبرامج التنمية والإصلاح، أود أن أسجل بكل اعتزاز، إن المؤشرات السياسية والاقتصادية الدولية سجلت تحسناً بالأداء في ليبيريا. وبغض النظر عن نسبة هذا التحسن، إلا أن ذلك يعتبر مؤشراً قوياً على السير في الاتجاه الصحيحللخروج من المحنة،إذ كانت انتخابات عام 2005 مؤشراً قوياً على الانفراج، والتي اعتبرها المجتمع الدولي أكثر الانتخابات نزاهة في تاريخ ليبيريا، مما جعل الشركات العالمية تشعر بارتياح بالغ.ولقد انعكس هذا الارتياح على ارتفاع نسبة الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وانعكس كذلك على زيادة عدد الاتفاقيات الاقتصادية التي وقعتها الدول المانحة، والشركات الكبرى مع الحكومة الليبيرية.

 

السادة الحضور،

اتسمت سياستنا الخارجية بالكويت بصبغة انسانية عالمية، من خلال تبنيها مبدأ دعم مشاريع التنمية في الدول الصديقة، وتقديم المساعدات الإنسانية للمناطق المنكوبة، ومساندة ضحايا الكوارث الطبيعية، والحروب والنزاعات، والعمل على رفع معاناتهم، ومساعدتهم للنهوض من ذلك؛ وهذه السياسة قديمة تمتد إلى أوائل الستينات من القرن الماضي، وهي التي جعلت الكويت تحتل المرتبة الأولى خليجياً، والثالثة عشر عالمياً، في دعم مشاريع التنمية. وبالإضافة إلى كل هذا، فإن الكويت تقدم مساعدات بشكل مباشر أو عبر جهات حكومية، وقد احتضنت الكويت على أرضها العديد من المؤتمرات والقمم الدولية الإنسانية والتنموية، من أجل حشد الجهود والتبرعات الرسمية والشعبية للشعوب المنكوبة.وإنني أود أن أشير إلى أن تلك السياسة الإنسانية قد أرسى دعائمها أستاذي ومعلمي سمو أمير البلاد الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح، والتي تميزت بالجانب الإنساني والإغاثي على مستوى العالم، حتى جاء وصف السكرتير العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون للكويت بأنها (مركز انساني عالمي)، وأن سمو الأمير (قائد للعمل الإنساني)، تأكيداً على الدور الإنساني الايجابي والرائد للكويت.

 

السيدات والسادة،

في نهاية كلمتي، أود أن أتقدم بجزيل الشكر لجمهورية ليبيريا ولشعبها وحكومتها، وأخص بالذكر فخامة الرئيسة إلين جونسون سيرليف على منحي هذا الوسام الرفيع، مؤكداً بالغ اعتزازي بهذا الشرف، الذي يعكس عمق أواصر الصداقة بين شعبينا، والحرص المتبادل بيننا على دعم جسور التواصل والتقارب والحوار، مع خالص تمنياتي لكم جميعا بالتوفيق والسداد.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة