Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammed Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah at the lunch banquet held in honor of the President of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Mr. Peter Maurer  
  23rd October 2018  
     
 

In the name of Allah the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

 

Mr, Peter Maurer,

President of the International Committee of the Red Cross,

Ladies and gentlemen,

 

It is my pleasure to welcome today Mr. Peter Maurer, our dear guest who is on an official visit to Kuwait, as well as his accompanying delegation. Mr. Maurer chairs the largest humanitarian organization that aims to protect people in times of war. This Committee has gained credibility with international bodies since its creation a century and a half ago by Jean-Henri Dunant who had a deep vision and a strong determination. Since then, families affected by wars and natural disasters have placed their hopes on this committee to find missing people, to put captives and detainees in contact with their families, or to provide food and medical assistance to distressed people. Although the task of this committee is noble and ambitious, but the risks and difficulties surround it from all sides, which makes it a difficult task. We all remember with deep sadness the kidnapping and execution of Hawaa Mohammed Leman who was part of the health care staff in Nigeria. This incident is an example of the dangers faced by those working in the humanitarian field. Yet, despite all these risks, the Committee has succeeded in many achievements on the ground in recent decades, in areas such as the Republic of Angola, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Georgia, Sri Lanka and Colombia.

 

 

Ladies and gentlemen,

 

Since taking over the presidency of the ICRC, Mr. Maurer has shown great efficiency in his work, which has encouraged donors to increase the Committee's budget. Today, I would like to pay tribute to him for his efforts in promoting humanitarian diplomacy and communicating with States and actors in order to increase respect for international humanitarian law. I would also like to pay tribute to the Committee for the programs it provides to afflicted people around the world, which aim to reunite families separated by war conflict, to protect those affected by violence in all its forms, by helping them to strengthen their resilience and to provide for their own needs, to restore links between dispersed family members separated because of the conflict, to provide medical assistance to war-wounded, to support hospital services and physical rehabilitation, to provide prostheses for the disabled , to rehabilitate water supply and sanitation systems, and to provide health care services for the wounded and sick, including victims of sexual violence. We place high hopes in the humanitarian role of the Committee in areas of armed conflict throughout the world. These programs have covered several parts of the world, including Sudan, Somalia, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, South Sudan, Libya, Mali and Nigeria in Africa; Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Myanmar in Asia, Ukraine in Europe, and Mexico, Colombia and Haiti in America.

 

Ladies and gentlemen,

 

We hope that the International Committee of the Red Cross will play a greater role in areas of armed conflict and natural and epidemiological disasters in our Arab region, where the continued absence of rains in some countries has led to a fatal drought that has affected the lifestyle of many people; in the Middle East, millions of people live in poor health conditions because of the deterioration of the health sector in countries involved in current conflicts. Thousands of families have been displaced, families have been dispersed, the number of missing people has increased, and thousands of children and elderly people have been victims of intense fighting; these latter represent actually a large proportion of the number of displaced persons.

 

I would also like to pay tribute to Mr Peter Maurer for his humanitarian efforts in supporting the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA), and for all his humanitarian efforts in the rest of the world.

 

Mr. Peter Maurer,

 

I would like to welcome you again in Kuwait and I wish you a good stay full of success.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سموّ الشيخ ناصر المحمد الأحمد الجابر الصباح في مأدبة الغداء التي أقامها سموّه على شرف رئيس اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر السيد / بيتر ماورير، والوفد المرافق له، بمناسبة زيارته للبلاد  
  23 اكتوبر 2018  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

السيد بيتر ماورير

رئيس اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر

السادة الحضور

يسعدني أن أرحب بالسيد بيتر ماورير الذي يحل علينا ضيفا عزيزا، في زيارة رسمية لدولة الكويت،كما أرحب بالوفد المرافق له. يترأس السيد ماورير أهم منظمة إنسانية تسعى لحماية البشر في خضم الحروب، وقد اكتسبت هذه اللجنة مصداقية لدى المحافل الدولية منذ بداية انطلاقها، أي منذ قرابة قرن ونصف، وذلك عندما قرر تأسيسها السيد جان هنري دونانت، برؤيتة الثاقبة وإصراره الأكيد. ومنذ ذلك الوقت والأسر المنكوبة من الحروب والكوارث الطبيعية تضع آمالا عليها، إما في البحث عن المفقودين، أو ربط الأسرى والمحتجزين بذويهم، أو توفير الغذاء والمساعدات الطبية للمنكوبين. ورغم أن مهمة هذه اللجنة تتصف بالسمو والجلال، إلا أن المخاطر والصعاب تحفّها من كل جانب، مما يجعلها مهمة شاقة. وكلنا يتذكر بألم حادثة اختطاف وإعدام موظفة الرعاية الصحية حواء محمد ليمان في نيجيريا، والتي تقدم مثالا لما يلاقيه العاملون في المجال الإنساني من مخاطر. غير أن اللجنة قدّمت رغم كل تلك المخاطر، نجاحات وانجازات كثيرة تحققت على أرض الواقع في العقود الماضية، في مناطق مثل أنغولا، وجمهورية كونغو الديمقراطية، وجورجيا، وسري لانكا، وكولومبيا.

السادة الحضور

لقد أظهر السيد بيتر ماورير جدارة عالية في عمله خلال فترة رئاسته للمنظمة، مما شجع المانحين على زيادة ميزانية اللجنة منذ توليه منصبه، وهو ما يجعلني أحيي جهوده في تعزيز الدبلوماسية الإنسانية، والتحاور مع الدول والجهات الفاعلة من أجل إرساء احترام القانون الدولي الإنساني. كما أود أن أشيد بالبرامج التي تقدمها اللجنة للمنكوبين في العالم، من لمّ شمل العائلات التي شتتها نزاعات الحروب، وحماية المتضررين من كل حالات العنف، ومساعدتهم على الصمود والاعتماد على الذات، وتوفير سبل الاتصال للأفراد الذين افترقوا عن عائلاتهم جراء النزاع، وتوفير الخدمات العلاجية للمصابين والجرحى بسبب القتال، ودعم خدمات المستشفيات وإعادة التأهيل البدني، وتقديم الأجهزة التعويضية للمعاقين، والجهود المبذولة لتحسين إمدادات المياه ومرافق الصرف الصحي، وتعزيز خدمات الرعاية الصحية للجرحى والمرضى بما فيهم ضحايا العنف الجنسي. ونحن نعقد آمالا كبيرة على دور اللجنة الإنساني في مناطق النزاعات المسلحة بالعالم؛ فلقد غطت هذه البرامج والمساعدات مناطق متعددة من العالم. فمثلاً في القارة الأفريقية: السودان، والصومال، وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى، وجمهوية كونغو الديمقراطية، وجنوب السودان، وليبيا، ومالي، ونيجيريا، وكذلك في آسيا: أفغانستان وبنغلاديش وميانمار، وكذلك في أوروبا: اوكرانيا، وكذلك في القارة الأمريكية: المكسيك وكولومبيا وهايتي.

السادة الحضور

إننا نتطلع لدور أكبر للجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر في مناطق النزاع المسلح والكوارث الطبيعية والوبائية في منطقتنا العربية، حيث أدّى انقطاع المطر لمواسم متعاقبة في بعض البلدان إلى طول موجة جفاف مهلكة، أصابت نمط حياة الكثيرينبالشلل؛ وفي الشرق الأوسط، يعيش الملايين في ظروف صحية سيئة جداً، نتيجة تدهور القطاع الصحي في البلدان التي تعاني من الحروب والنزاعات الراهنة، وقد نزحت آلاف العائلات من منازلها، في مدن عدة، وتشتت الأسر، وارتفعت أعداد المفقودين، ووقع آلاف الأطفال وكبار السن ضحايا للمعارك الشديدة، وهم يمثلون نسبة كبيرة من أعداد النازحين.

كما أود أن أشيد بالموقف الإنساني للسيد بيتر ماورير فيما يتعلق بوكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (أونروا)، وفي كل الجهود الإنسانية التي تبذلونها في بقية مناطق العالم.

السيد بيتر ماورير

أرحب بك، وبالوفد المرافق، مرة أخرى، فأهلا وسهلا بكم في الكويت، ونتمنى لكم إقامة طيبة في بلدنا، والنجاح والتوفيق لزيارتكم.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة