Speeches
  Speech of His Highness Sheikh Nasser Mohammed Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah on the occasion of the farewell ceremony of the US Ambassador to the State of Kuwait  
  16th September 2019  
     
 

In the name of Allah the Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful,

May peace and blessings be upon the faithful Prophet, Muhammad bin Abdullah, and on his family and companions,

 

His Excellency the Ambassador of the United States of America Mr. Lawrence Robert Silverman,

Their Excellencies the Ambassadors and Members of the Diplomatic Corps,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

It’s my pleasure to welcome you all today, to bid farewell to His Excellency Mr. Lawrence Robert Silverman, Ambassador of the United States of America to the State of Kuwait, who has spent nearly four years with us, representing his country, people and government. He is an ambassador with a vast diplomatic experience, which was never limited to representing his country. He participated as a negotiator in many files, in Namibia and Angola in Africa, in Madrid Peace Conference in 1991, and in Wye River Peace negotiations in Maryland, in 1998. He was in charge of files related to the relations of the United States with Central and Eastern European countries. His experience enabled him to hold sensitive positions in the State Department and to be the special advisor of the vice-president of the United States / Mr. Joe Biden. Our friend to whom we bid farewell today has a broad experience focused mostly on issues related to political and economic reform.s

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The Kuwaiti-American relations go back to the early 20th century, when the Americans decided to build a hospital in Kuwait, at a time when our medication was based on popular traditions, and modern health services were almost absent. They used in 1911 an annex of the Palace of Sheikh Mubarak as a temporary hospital until the construction of the first hospital was completed in 1913. The construction of this American Hospital was a milestone in the beginning of modernity and the development of our society. In this hospital, Kuwaitis learnt to cure some incurable diseases. They recognized that the hands of the hospital’s staff bring mercy, health and cure, and thus the Kuwaiti-American relationship started from a humanitarian perspective, which immortalized the hospital staff in the people's memory. Today, I take this opportunity to pay tribute to the first pioneers who worked at the American Hospital in Kuwait, and I would like to  especially thank the managers who carried out their humanitarian tasks throughout our difficult circumstances: Dr. Paul Harrison (1912-1913), Dr. Stanley Mylrea (1913 – 1942) and Dr. Lewis R. Scudder (1939-1967). I would like to extend my thanks and appreciation to the doctors who worked with them over the past 100 years, such as, Dr. Wells Thomes, Dr. Harold Storm, Dr. Gerald Nykerk, Dr. Maurice Heusinkveld, Dr. Bernard Voss, Dr. Donald Bosch, Dr. Alfred Pennings, Dr. Egbert Fell, Dr. Eleanor Calverley (1912-1929), Dr. Esther Barny (1930-1937), Dr. Mary Allison (1934-1940) and Dr. Ruth Crouse (1940-1946). I would also like to thank the distinguished nurses, Miss Mary Van Pelt (1916-1938) who was loved by Kuwaitis and who was nicknamed Khatun Miryam, and Mrs. Eleanor Heusinkveld (1945-1949). It is to be mentioned that three of these pioneers chose to be buried in Kuwait: Dr. Mylrea in 1952, Dr. Nykerk in 1964, and Dr. Scudder in 1975. The American Hospital still owns its historical buildings located on the Gulf street, which witness the beginning of the relationship between the two countries.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

If the relationship between Kuwaiti and American peoples is old and started from a humanitarian standpoint, our diplomatic and political relations are also considered to be ones of the oldest relationships. Since the early fifties, we had an American consulate in Kuwait, which was turned into an embassy after the independence of Kuwait, in 1961. Our relationships have noticeably progressed since then and reached their highest level in 1990, when the United States decided to persuade the international community to form a military alliance to liberate Kuwait from the brutal occupation. It was a moral decision aiming to defend the world peace, the UN Charter and the international laws. Had it not been to this courageous decision, the law of the jungle and chaos would have prevailed, rights would have been lost, and military invasion would have become the approach to solve political problems between countries. The sacrifices that the free world made to liberate Kuwait were made for the sake of maintaining the world peace, while the sacrifices of the United States were due to its position in leading the international community as a superpower, which we value and respect. Our mutual relations took - since then - a clear strategic direction, based on a solid alliance and firm foundations of shared values, visions and mutual respect.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

The alliance between our two countries means strategic partnership at all levels and in various fields, such as defence, security, trade, investment, finance, education, culture, art, consular affairs, customs, borders protection and health matters, as well as close cooperation in international forums to address issues affecting global peace and security, such as the fight against terrorism and against the use of mass destruction weapons. On the military level, Kuwait has updated its military facilities used jointly by our forces, as directed by the Military Committee. On the security level, we have always worked together in order to fight against terrorism. On the international level, the State of Kuwait has, in cooperation with the United States, assisted displaced people from troubled regions, who were hosted by other countries as refugees. On the commercial level, Kuwait has been a long-term active investor in the United States, mainly through the Kuwait Investment Authority, which allocates most of its investments to the United States of America, or invests in US dollars, which contributes to the support of the US economy. On the trade level, bilateral trade has witnessed a major increase. On the educational level, American educational institutions have embraced five generations of Kuwaitis, and the number of Kuwaitis who are studying in America keeps rising.

Dear Ambassador, we are still seeking to create more strategic partnerships between our two countries.

 

Ladies and Gentlemen,

 

There is a main rule in Kuwaiti diplomacy, which I would like to highlight. Kuwait does not forget its friends and those who supported us and stood by us in our difficult times and severe crises. Their names will remain in the memory of our future generations. And like we say, a friend in need is a friend indeed, and therefore the position of the United States of America from the brutal invasion of Kuwait will remain in the memory of our generations and in the history of Kuwait. I was delighted when our two countries decided to dedicate a site for the Desert Storm memorial in Washington DC, in order to commemorate those who participated in the liberation of Kuwait. We are all looking forward to its opening in the near future.

 

Finally, I would like to thank you all, and thank HE Ambassador Silverman for all his efforts in strengthening the relations between our two countries, and I would like to wish him success and prosperity in serving his country.

 
  Print This Page

الكلمات
  كلمة سمو الشيخ ناصر محمد الأحمد الجابر المبارك الصباح بمناسبة حفل توديع السفير الأمريكي بدولة الكويت  
  16 سبتمبر 2019  
     
 

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

والصلاة والسلام على النبي الأمين، محمد بن عبدالله، وعلى آله وصحبه أجمعين

سعادة سفير الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية السيد لورانس ر. سيلفرمان، وحرمه

أصحاب السعادة السادة السفراء وأعضاء السلك الديبلوماسي،

السيدات والسادة الحضور،

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،

 

يسعدني أن أرحب بكم جميعا، في حفلنا اليوم، من أجل توديع سعادة السفير لورانس روبرت سيلفرمان، سفير الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لدى دولة الكويت، والذي أمضى بيننا ما يقارب أربع سنوات، قام خلالها بتمثيل وطنه وشعبه وحكومته خير تمثيل. وهو سفير يتمتع بخبرة دبلوماسية واسعة، إذ لم تقتصر خبرته الدبلوماسية على تمثيل بلده فحسب، بل شارك كمفاوض في ملفات كثيرة، في نامبيا وأنغولا بأفريقيا، وفي مؤتمر مدريد للسلام بالشرق الأوسط عام 1991، ومحادثات السلام في واي ريفر في ماريلاند عام 1998، وأشرف على ملفات بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبلدان وسط وشرق أوروبا، ولقد مكنته خبرته هذه لأن يتولى مناصب حساسة في وزارة الخارجية، وأن يشغل منصب مستشار خاص لنائب رئيس الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية السيد جو بايدن Joe Bidenلشؤون أوروبا و وروسيا، فصديقنا الذي نودعه اليوم هو مزيج من الخبرات المتميزة، انصب معظمها على القضايا المتعلقة بالإصلاح السياسي والاقتصادي.

 

السيدات والسادة

تمتد جذور العلاقات الكويتية الامريكية إلى أوائل القرن الماضي، عندما قرر الأمريكان أن يبنوا مستشفى في الكويت، في وقت كان التداوي لدينا يقوم على التراث الشعبي المتداول، وكانت الخدمات الصحية الحديثة شبه غائبة. وقد استخدموا في عام 1911 ملحقاً في قصر الشيخ مبارك كمستشفى مؤقت حتى اكتمل بناء أول مستشفى في عام 1913.وجاء تشييد المستشفى الأميركي كمعلم يشهد على بدء الحداثة وتطور المجتمع، فمنها عرف الكويتيون علاجا لبعض الأمراض المستعصية، ومنها عرفوا أن أيدي العاملين بالمستشفى تسوق له الرحمة والصحة والبراء من الأمراض، ومنها نشأت العلاقة الكويتية الأمريكية، من مدخل إنساني، مما جعل العاملين فيها يدخلون الوجدان الشعبي والذاكرة الجمعية، وهو ما يجعلني اليوم أنتهز هذه المناسبة لكي أسجل العرفان لأولئك الرواد الأوائل الذين عملوا في المستشفى الأميركي بالكويت، وأخص بجزيل الشكر للمدراء الذين قاموا بمهامهم الإنسانية إبان ظروفنا الصعبة، وإمكاناتنا المحدودة، وهم: الدكتور بول هاريسون (1912 -1913) Paul Harrison، والدكتور ستانلي ميلري (1913 -1942) Stanley G. Mylrea، والدكتور لويس سكادر (1939 -1967) Lewis R. Scudder، كما أسجل تقديري الكبير للأطباء الذين عملوا معهم خلال المائة عام المنصرمة، من أمثال: الدكتور ويلز توم Wells Thomesوالدكتور هارولد ستورم Harold Stormوالدكتور جيرالد نيكرك Gerald Nykerkوالدكتور موريس هوسنكفيلد Maurice Heusinkveldوالدكتور برنارد فوس Bernard Vossوالدكتور دونالد بوش Donald Boschوالدكتور ألفرد بيننغز Alfred Penningsوالدكتور ايجبرت فل Egbert Fell، والطبيبات من أمثال: الدكتورة إلينور كالفيرلي (1912 -1929) Eleanor Calverley، والدكتورة إسثير بارني (1930 -1937) Esther Barny، والدكتورة ماري أليسون (1934- 1940) Mary Allison، والدكتورة روث كروس (1940 -1946) Ruth Crouse، وأخص بالشكر والثناء على الممرضات الرائدات من أمثال: السيدة ماري فان بلت (1916 -1938) Miss Mary Van Pelt، التي أحبها الكويتيون ولقبوها خاتون مريم (Khatun Miryam)، ومن بعدها السيدة إليانور هوسنكفلد (1945 -1949) Mrs. Eleanor Heusinkveld، ومما هو جدير بالذكر، أن ثلاثة من أولئك الرواد اختاروا أن يدفن جثمانهم في الكويت، وهم: الدكتور ميلري عام 1952، والدكتور نيكيرك عام 1964، والدكتور سكادر عام 1975. ولا  يزال المستشفى الأميركي يحتفظ  بمبانيه على شاطئ الخليج، كشاهد تاريخي على بدء العلاقة بين البلدين.

 

السيدات والسادة،

إذا كانت العلاقة بين شعبينا الكويتي والأميركي قديمة، وبدأت من منطلق إنساني، فإن علاقاتنا الدبلوماسية والسياسية تعتبر كذلك من أقدم العلاقات. فمنذ مطلع الخمسينيات، كان لدينا قنصلية أمريكية في الكويت، وتحولت إلى سفارة بعد استقلال الكويت. وشهدت علاقاتنا تطوراً ملحوظاً منذ ذلك التاريخ، حتى بلغت ذروتها عام 1990، عندما قررت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية اقناع المجتمع الدولي بتشكيل تحالف عسكري لتحرير دولة الكويت من الاحتلال الغاشم. وهو قرار أخلاقي بالدرجة الأولى، هدفه الدفاع عن منظومة السلام العالمي، وميثاق الأمم المتحدة، والقوانين الدولية. ولولا ذلك القرار الشجاع لسادت شريعة الغاب، وعمت الفوضى، وضاعت الحقوق، وأصبح الغزو العسكري نهجاً في حل المشاكل السياسية بين الدول. وإذا كان العالم الحر قد قدّم تضحيات في حرب تحرير الكويت، فإن تضحياته هذه كانت من أجل الحفاظ على السلام العالمي. أما تضحيات الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، فلأنها تتولى قيادة المجتمع الدولي باعتبارها القوة العظمى، وهو ما نقدره ونثمنه ونحترمه، وجعل علاقاتنا المشتركة ـــ منذ ذلك الوقت ـــ تأخذ منحى استراتيجياً واضحاً، يمثل تحالفاً راسخاً، ويستند الى أسس ثابتة من القيم والرؤى المشتركة والاحترام المتبادل.

 

السيدات والسادة،

إن التحالف بين بلدينا يعني الشراكة الاستراتيجية على كل الصعد، وفي مختلف المجالات، كالدفاع والأمن والتجارة والاستثمار والمالية والتعليم والثقافة والفن والشؤون القنصلية والجمارك وحماية الحدود والقضايا الصحية، بالإضافة إلى التعاون الوثيق في المحافل الدولية لمعالجة المسائل التي تؤثر على الأمن والسلم العالميين، مثل مكافحه الإرهاب واستخدام أسلحه الدمار الشامل، وهو ما جسدته سياسة دولة الكويت في تلك المجالات. فعلى المستوى العسكري قامت الكويت بتحديث المنشآت العسكرية التي تستخدمها قواتنا بشكل مشترك، وفقا لتوجيهات اللجنة العسكرية، وعلى المستوى الأمن قمنا بالتحالف معاً من أجل مكافحة الإرهاب. وعلى المستوى الدولي، ساهمت دولة الكويت، بالتعاون مع الولايات المتحدة، بمساعدة النازحين من المناطق المضطربة بالعالم، داخل المناطق التي تستضيفهم دول أخرى كلاجئين. وعلى المستوى التجاري، فإن الكويت كانت ومازالت مستثمرا نشطا طويل الأمد في الولايات المتحدة، وذلك بشكل رئيسي من خلال الهيئة العامة للاستثمار، التي تخصص معظم استثماراتها في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، أو بالدولار الأمريكي، مما يساهم في الاقتصاد الأمريكي. على مستوى التجارة البينية، شهدت التجارة الثنائية زيادة كبيرة.وعلى المستوى التعليمي، احتضنت مؤسسات التعليم الأمريكية خمسة أجيال من الكويتيين، ولا تزال أعداد الكويتيين الذين ينهلون من العلم في أمريكا آخذة بالصعود، وما زلنا نسعى لمزيد من الشراكة الاستراتيجية بين بلدينا.

 

السيدات والسادة

هناك قاعدة أساسية في الدبلوماسية الكويتية، أريد أن أبرزها هنا في كلمتي هذه، وهي أن الكويت لا تنسى أصدقاءها، ولا تنسى من ساندها ووقف معها في أوقاتها العصيبة وأزماتها الحادّة، وستظل أسماؤهم باقية في ذاكرة الأجيال القادمة، فالصديق وقت الضيق، ولهذا سيظل موقف الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من الغزو الغاشم للكويت محفوراً في ذاكرة الأجيال، وفي تاريخ الكويت. ولقد سعدت بترحيب بلدينا في تخصيص موقع لنصب تذكاري لعاصفة الصحراء في العاصمة واشنطن، يحيي ويخلد ذكرى أولئك الذين شاركوا في تحرير الكويت، والذي نتطلع جميعا إلى افتتاحه في المستقبل.

 

وفي ختام كلمتي أود أن أشكركم جميعاً، وأشكر سعادة السفير السيد لورانس سيلفرمان على كل جهوده في تدعيم العلاقات المختلفة بين بلدينا، وتمنياتي له بالتوفيق والنجاح في خدمة وطنه.

 
  اطبع هذه الصفحة